My favorite remedy for dry hands (so far)

in #health5 years ago (edited)

Bag Balm

Winter for me means two things: back pain and cracked, dry skin on my hands. While there isn't a good remedy for the former, Bag Balm alleviates the latter quite well for me. This lanolin-based salve was apparently created to protect the udders of milk cattle, but it alleviates chapped skin for humans as well.

The sticky, slimy concoction wants to get absolutely everywhere, and is not readily absorbed by the skin, so I suggest applying it before watching a TV show or film and just making sure you don't inadvertently slime your seat. Afterwards, go wash the remaining residue off your hands. Lava soap works well for this step, as a side note. It's been about 24 hours since I applied this to my hands, and they are no longer comparable to alligator skin.

Another side note: I watched the Jim Gaffigan Noble Ape special. That gets a recommendation too, by the way. The comedy was clean, a rare thing these days. And it was funny, which is also becoming rare in "comedy."

Image Credit

Sort:  

It is interesting that you are using a non-absorbing brew, if it was intended for cows teats it would also get into the milking machine cups, and from there, into the milk.
I would have thought that you would want the brew to be absorbed and soften the hands.

It was invented decades before modern milking machines, and it does include instructions for cleaning before milking on the tin.

We, many eons ago, used a variation of vaseline/lanoline, and with the number of sheep there is in NZ it was a cheap product,

The comedy was clean, a rare thing these days. And it was funny, which is also becoming rare in "comedy."

This is, indeed, and understatement!
By the way, I use O'Keeffe's Working Hands cream. It works well, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97