The Pushy Patient - Back Pain and Thirst

in #health8 years ago

Around the same time that the vertigo was coming and going, I developed very severe lower back pain, along with a mysterious need to drink water every ten minutes, which in turn caused an even more urgent need to urinate about as often. Even in the middle of the night. 

As someone who had always been addicted to diet soda, my sudden urge for water was uncharacteristic. But I couldn’t stay off of the stuff. So, between the back pain and waking up every hour to hit the bathroom (and every wall on the way there), my sleep was seriously compromised. This went on for weeks.

So I e-mailed my doctor. Not surprisingly, he wrote back with a referral to endocrinology instead of an appointment time with him. Being the annoying assertive patient was starting to have its advantages.

The only problem was that I had been to this endocrinologist before, for the blatantly obvious thyroid problem he wouldn’t diagnose. So this time, he tested me for diabetes, which was at least fresh and different. I hadn’t stumbled across that during internet medical school.

I was beginning to think we were onto something, which was awesome even though I definitely didn’t want to have diabetes. Amazing how a desperate desire for relief can prompt a prayer for any condition with a name. Regardless, another trip to the lab - where I was starting to make friends - resulted in another diagnosis of normal.

                           

Groundhog Day.

At the same time, he told me the back pain was probably due to my position during deep sleeping – like I was getting myself twisted into a pretzel and staying there through the night. That would have been a good explanation but for the fact that I hadn’t really slept at all in weeks, much less deeply. Regardless, I took apart the bed, rotated the mattress, got new pillows and removed the feather bed. No change.

So I called him back to explain that the bedroom gymnastics didn’t work. That’s when he did what every other western doc does in a situation like this - where they have no answer - punt to another doctor. And then suggest anti-depressants.

I think he was hoping that a better attitude about my declining health would at least keep me out of his office.

Fat chance.

                             

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing about your Thyroid problem. Our bodies are a complex organism hope your on the way to managing it. Kind regards @fusiontherapy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39