Educational Monday - Sunkissed and loving it

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear Steemit friends! Since I love this site and sharing my life with you I decided to do different series each week to share with you. Today I decided to do Educational Monday blog. I will also do Personal Friday series and much more. Each Monday or so I will do my best to tell you some interesting educational information that I would have loved to hear when I was younger many years back! And I hope you do too!

Let's talk about the sun today!

I am traveling to tropics in a few days and I thought I will also share with you one of my favourite photoshoots from my last trip in Bali. I am so looking forward being in the tropical weather again. I feel my best when I am sun-kissed - physically and emotionally.

DSC02477ed.jpg

When I was growing up I was thought to stay out of the sun and to use heavy sunscreen. Later on my journey, learning a lot about holistic health and becoming a yoga teacher, I learned that sunscreens are more harmful than beneficial as they contain very dangerous toxins that are absorbed in our pores and especially damaging when exposed to heat.

"The main reason the dermatology industry promotes sunscreen products is because it is heavily funded by sunscreen manufacturers. The pharmaceutical and medical industries never intended to cure diseases". - Andreas Moritz

bright_sunshine_by_tomsumartin.jpg

Sunlight is incredably healing, everybody knows that that's how we get our vitamin D. But there's so many more benefits of being in the sun!

"The UV-rays in sunlight actually stimulate the thyroid gland to increase hormone production, which in turn increases the body’s basal metabolic rate. This assists both in weight loss and improved muscle development. It has been known for several decades that those living mostly in the outdoors, at high altitudes, or near the equator, have the lowest incidence of skin cancers." - Andreas Moritz

IMG_1326.JPG

Research shows that any person who misses out on sunlight becomes weak and suffers mental and physical problems as a result. His vital energy diminishes in due time, which is reflected in his quality of life. The populations in Northern European countries like Norway and Finland, which experience months of darkness every year, have a higher incidence of irritability, fatigue, illness, insomnia, depression, alcoholism, and suicide than those living in the sunny parts of the world.

If you want to learn more about the healing benefits of sun I recommend you read books by holistic doctor Andreas Moritz. My favourite book by him is called "Heal yourself with Sunlight"

DSC02329.jpg

We also know that being in the sun it's the best mood booster.

After weeks of grey and rainy days, a sunny sky is enough to put a smile on one’s face. One’s mood is instantly lifted. We know that from experience, but science has also proven that exposure to sunlight increases the levels of serotonin in the brain, a hormone associated with lifting our mood.

DSC02316.jpg

I wish I knew this information many years back when I was putting chemical sun-screens on my skin. If you use sunscreen make sure it's organic!

Make sure you get some sun on your skin, it keeps you healthy and feeling full of vitality and and radiance :)

Much Love,

Ilze Mystic Muse

Sort:  

this is a perfect blend of bikini shots and pure science.
excellent post. :)

Thank you, keeping it all balanced :)

I am solar-powered, and migrated south to be with my love, the sun.

Vitamin D, serotonin, the sun provides us :)

That's very inspiring to hear! Being solar-powered in the only future :) I also migrated from my cold home country latvia long time ago :) yes sun provides it all!

Thank you!

Very useful information. I read your posts with huge interest, you are a real inspiration. I have been practicing yoga for 6 months and I can say that it's life-changing. Thank you for your posts, I will keep reading you.

Thank you so much, I am very happy to hear that you found my article useful and inspirational! :) That's great you been practicing yoga for 6 months, it really is life changing, keep on going! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68515.51
ETH 3777.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65