Cold Showers Benefits...

in #health7 years ago

You have to ask yourself, does taking cold showers actually have health benefits?

Well some say, you have to take a cold shower everyday for 30 days. That might be a little far fetched, but I don't know. It may not take this long to feel the effects.
I haven't done this yet, but I know that, I do feel better after taking one.

I don't just jump into it(as I would probably scream and scare everyone) LOL...
I actually get in, while it's warm and gradually turn the hot water down until I can stand it..
Yes, it's very cold, but I try to get a mind set, to a place where I have actually been(Hawaii), and it was very warm to me..

While I'm thinking of my warm place, my body starts to adapt to the cold. Now keep in mind it's not all cold, there's a little hot(not much though).

If you are hot natured like I am, a cool/warm shower will do just fine.

Japan, Korea, Finland and Russia have a history of cold showering for great health.
So maybe, it could help some of us as well. I know, I could use as much help as I can get .. LOL

Some of the benefit claims are:

(1). Improve blood circulation- This has worked for me. I had more than average energy levels afterwards(I was washing dishes, vacuuming, washing my clothes, etc..., it was crazy)..
Cold showers releases endorphins(hormones that are responsible for the way we feel- joy or excitement), according to research. Yet, it did make me feel better all around.

(2). Decrease pain and body aches- I have noticed this as well.. I have lower back pain a lot,(I think most of it is from Sciatica) which is very painful. I wish this upon no one.. But I still have to take my Aleve..

(3). Reduce blood pressure- I can see where that could help with that. If I get too hot from working or get upset about something, I can feel my pressure getting up.. Well not this much... Haha

24200888-hothead.jpg

Time To Cool Off...

(4). Muscle Recovery- After a hard intense workout, I have taken a cool shower and it seems to soothe the body(kind of like a massage).

(5). Improves Sleep- I know after a good workout, I sleep better at night. I haven't really noticed if, I get a good nights rest after a cold shower.. Have to pay closer attention next time.

Looks like somebody, got a good nights rest

(6). Can Strengthen the Immune System
(7). Heal and Tone the Skin
(8). Decreases Inflammation and Swelling- I guess when things in the body gets inflamed, that's when pain occurs in different areas. Maybe that's what causes some of the swelling on/in the body.

inflamed-parts.jpg

inflammaging-is-chronic-inflammation-of-aging-redo-1200-630-article-Adapted.jpg

Looks like organs can get inflamed and so can the joints.. I suppose when the joints start to hurt, take a cold shower or get an Icepack(LOL, I used my screen name) to put on it..

I have also read that, DO NOT TAKE COLD SHOWERS IF:

You Have A Heart Condition

You Have Adrenal Exhaustion

Or... If You Are Pregnant

I hope this has been useful.. This may be something, some of you already knew. I don't know.
I just wanted to share some of these benefits with you all..
There are several more, I just didn't name all of them..
Too many..

To my conclusion, I would say that taking cold showers do have their benefits..

Thanks for viewing...

Sort:  

Your Post Is So So Nice... @toaonly Flower-3.jpg

Well thank you so much..

I know that it has a lot of benfits...I also tried to take cold showers but honestly... I really really hate it :-D I guess I will just continue taking hot showers haha
But still - great article! Thank you

Hi, yeah cold showers isn't really my cup of tea, but I do feel better afterwards.. LOL.. Every now and then, I will take hot hot ones too. I come out more relaxed.. Well take care, see ya on next post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33