Grounding: the power of the earth

in #health6 years ago

Who doesn't love the feeling of sand or grass or just plain ol dirt under your feet!? No one I have ever met! People just talk about how good it feels but never look further into why. Well my last post about sun gazing got me thinking about one of the other elements I failed to mention that usually accompanies it and something else that my lovely husband brought into my awareness. The healing power of removing your shoes and standing, feet planted on the earth, better known as grounding.

IMG_9094.PNG

As we move about in life we are constantly using electricity. Everything from our muscle contractions to hormone release use electrically charged ions to work. But in the process of using all this electricity we get a build up. You know when you sometimes touch a metal post or rack and you get shocked!? This is simply sudden grounding. The build up is suddenly discharged through the metal you just touched. If we go without a way for this build up to be released we are left with the oh so dreaded effects which we all know as aging. You see as build up happens it slows and sometimes freezes our electrical systems leaving us feeling... well... old! Oh no!

IMG_9097.PNG

The build up effects can be broken down into many various health issues. Way too many in fact to list, a few being increases of diseases of inflammation, decreased immune function and hormonal dysfunction. Eeeeek! So it's obviously important to find a way to discharge this energy.

IMG_9096.PNG

The answer? Grounding or as some call it, earthing. The process of standing or walking on the earth barefoot allowing all that buildup to be released. Some people even use grounding mats cause of course it's not always possible or practical to stand on the earth. Grounding mats get plugged in and use the outlets grounding system the same way appliances use them, by expelling excess electrical build up. Simply stand or lay on it and bam! You are grounded!

IMG_9090.PNG

The benefits of grounding are so incredible and wide ranged it's impressive and also pretty challenging to list them all! Some of the benefits include reduced inflammation, reduced chronic pain, increased energy, decreased stress levels and muscle tension, improved biological rhythms including the circadian rhythm and increased bodily healing. All of these things basically improve your overall health and your mood! So why not toss your shoes off and take a little strut outside!? And better yet take a look at the sun while you do it!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. As usual, wonderful words of wisdom. ♥️

Thank you so much @omitaylor I so greatly appreciate your kind words 😘

I always thought about grounding more in a way of connecting more with the earth (and mostly yourself), so more like taking deep breaths and so.

But ditching some electricity doesnt seem like a bad idea every now and then! I really did not know it was capable of giving all these complaints.

In colder countries I have a lot more of those shocks than in warmer countries though!

I think grounding in any way is positive but yes this type of grounding does help keep some of these negative effects at bay. I think in colder countries we probably get more electric due to it being too cold to ground and maybe something to do with lack of sunshine but I'm just guessing. Thanx for stopping by and sharing your thoughts! Lots of love to you!

Really great to do this. It's something that I recommend to all of my clients.

Yessss! I love hearing that! There is nothing that feels better than my feet on the earth! Glad you are promoting it!

i guess i'm pretty grounded in the house, always barefoot there. Interesting post @iamjamie

Barefoot is the best way to be! Glad you enjoyed my post! Thanx so much for stopping by!

Been grounding for a few days now. No better feeling 😊
Had no idea the electrical shocks came from too much build-up.

Nor did I!!! Crazy.

I agree completely! Best feeling ever! I didn't know what it was all about either till I did my research then was like WOAH! Glad you enjoyed my post!

Oooh you make me want to go barefoot but its FREEZING here and well and truly ugg boot season!!! I even need booties for surfing....

Yikes! That sounds cold! I love the dedication to surfing! cold water for me is always a no go. I think cold weather places is what the invention of grounding mats was probably for. 🤷‍♀️ Thank for stopping by! Enjoy your surf session!

Oh I love this. Have been enjoying living in our old Thai teak house and walking on century old thick wooden floors & FEELING the difference. Love your mermaid toes!! haha... :)

That sounds heavenly! More and more your new home has been making me long to get out of the city! So glad you enjoyed my post! There are certainly more to come! 😘❤️

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in the latest @SMG co-curators digest. Thank you for being one of our cherished members. See how much our mastermind appreciates you and your work here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@smg/smg-digest-or-midlife-transformation-helpful-people-new-member-spotlight-magic-grass-and-grounding

A great reminder, thank you! I'm always getting shocks and now I know why...time to get my bare feet my bare feet on theground, get strutting and energise. Xx

Amen! Glad you enjoyed and got something out of my post! Hope you have fun with your barefoot strut! 😍

Beautiful photos and message. I just recently made my own post about Grounding. It is so important, so easy, and can help with so many health problems. Just simply taking our shoes off and connecting with the Earth, with Source. Thanks for sharing, such an easy fix that more people should be doing!

Cool I'll have to check I think out! Sadly there just isn't enough time in the day to read everyone's beautiful posts. Thanx sharing and I agree completely it's a hard an easy thing for everyone to do and has soooo many benefits it's hard to understand why someone wouldn't!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25