Everyone Around Me Has Gotten The Flu Except Me

in #health7 years ago (edited)

My daughter. My wife. My mama. My daddy. My sister. Mother in law. All have gotten the flu or had flu like symptoms. I mean it literally feels like everyone around me has been sick. I've kissed my daughter and my wife and still I haven't even gotten sick. Why have I not gotten sick?

Here's a simple guess. Cold showers. 

I take cold showers about 5 times per week. Here's why.

There is much evidence for cold showers improving your immune system. In fact, putting our body in cold environments will do this also. I started taking cold showers almost a year ago and the effects on my body have been great. I definitely feel that my immune system has gotten a boost and I also notice I don't feel as sore after workouts when I take cold showers.

This is the best guess I have because honestly I can't think of any other reason why I haven't gotten sick.  

Have you gotten the flu lately? Has anyone around you gotten the flu lately? Would you take cold showers?


Image

Sort:  

@humanearl,
Wow bro never heard about that before! That would be a great tip! I will try! It's a very useful thing to me either!

Cheers~

Just try it for a week and see how you feel. You will get a burst of energy and feel good.

COLD SHOWER is fine, but can you tell me what is the temperature of water in this cold shower. I think temperature of water is also important to know.

Waiting for your reply. Thanks.

Im not sure what the temp is but for me I put the water on the coldest setting possible.

That means your resistance power is high and your helath condition is so good.

Keep it up. While cold shower is good, it is equally important to have raw organic food to strengthen the immune system.

Thank you so much @humanearl...steem on and stay blissful...

Yes. I am also a vegetarian. That helps too. I havent tried the raw method but my wife has mentioned it before.

That's so nice to know you as a vegan....thank you @humanearl...Happy New Year 2018

Thats some good info you shared here..

I will also try this cold shower..

Thank you so much and Have a great day.

Everyone should get an annual flu-shot. Not too sure about other countries but luckily it’s free to get one in Canada!

Hope your family gets better!

Happy new year!

I haven't gotten the flu shot in about 4 years. I've only been really sick like 2 times in that span. Also this year in the U.S the flu shot is only 10% effective. The virus has become more resilient.

You must have a strong immune system to only get sick twice in 4 Years!

Freezing cold water is great for helping you to jump start your heart. I think I'll just take it easy and get a flu shot, though.

This year in the U.S. the flu shot was only 10% effective so it wouldn't have helped. The flu virus has evolved and became more resistant to the vaccine.

Congratulations @humanearl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Now you can have flu virus in the region and we also have it activated, however, as it can and in any place. In my experience, I know that a cold shower certainly strengthens immunity and it's great that you take it, but in your case it was not enough, because you already have a virus in your family and most likely you were already infected. In such cases, I usually take antibiotics and the disease gradually recedes. Thank you @humanearl and speedy recovery to you and your family!

Thanks for that. This is why I will continue to take cold showers because as everyone else has gotten sick I continue in good health.

Totally agree with you and definitely continue! God bless you and your loved ones!

I’m torn on this. In eastern medicine it’s considered really foolish and even dangerous to take a cold shower and I can totally understand the logic. I think if your body is really healthy already then it’s probably a good thing though.

I didn't know that cold showers were considered a bad thing in eastern medicine.

Heat is good! Well distributed heat throughout the body is the best! Sweating is good! Cold causes muscles to tighten which cause the heat to be unevenly distributed across the body and energy to have a harder time flowing, it can also shock the system. Like I said, I think for someone who is really healthy, it’s not problem, it might even be beneficial, but if you have any back problems, I wouldn’t recommend it

looks like you have created resistance to illness by cold showers. Thanks for the infor and wishing your family a speedy recovery
Cheers!

That's what it seems like. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44