80 Year Old Gymnast Amazes Judges

in #health5 years ago

She may be 80-years-old but Marjorie Scholes is beating adults almost half her age at gymnastics with body-bending stunts that defies the the odds against her, just proving age is just a number

image.png

Gymnast Marjorie Scholes has just claimed silver in the 2019 Adult Gymnastics British Championships (over 45s category).

The grandmother competed alongside 300 gymnasts participating in the national gymnastics competition, hosted on 3-4 August in Shropshire.

While she's not afraid to take a tumble while doing floor exercises, she says her much-loved hobby has boosted her morale and confidence as well as her physical health.

'Moves parts, I have never used before'

"I love the sport because it gets me out, keeps me fit and moves parts of my anatomy that I have never used before.

“I also love being amongst gymnasts of all ages and having a coach who has given me so much encouragement and made me believe that I could do it."

Speaking about her medal-winning performance, she said: "At the moment I do a floor routine; it is very basic but I love it.”

But Ms Scholes feels her greatest achievement is knowing how much more mobile and fitter she has become.

The grandmother only became interested in gymnastics four years ago at the age of 76 after watching her granddaughter compete. It wasn’t long before she became hooked.

.

Fitter body, brighter outlook

"I have been watching my granddaughter Natasha compete for Carterton Gymnastic Club from a young age. Then my daughter, Claire, got back into adult gymnastics again, having done it herself when she was at primary school.

"I thought ‘you know, I would like to try this’.

"To cut a long story short, I was fortunate to be invited to the club by Debbie the coach, to see if I liked it. I was hooked."

Since then the gymnast has come along in leaps and bounds.

She believes being brave and staying positive is the key and while it’s all too easy to do nothing, she advises if you believe you can do something then you will.

“It’s been hard at times, as the 80-year-old body won’t let me do what I would like to do, but I enjoy what is possible."


Visit us on our social media

http://hms-care.co.uk/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61