Simple Swaps to Improve Overall Health

in #health7 years ago

jade-wulfraat-96023.jpg
Today, I need to admit I grabbed a pack of M&Ms chocolate out of the vending machine at work. I actually got around to lunch for once at 1430. It’s not very often that I take the hour off to relax and eat a meal. I usually end up eating at my desk while working away. Some may call it workaholic, some may call it inefficient, some may call it overloaded and in the end I honestly do not care what you think. However, I do care about my health and am fully conscious about it. But today I grabbed M&Ms.
I know that implementing a change in diet and exercise routine can be strenuous and I recently came across a Gallup poll that stated that nine out of ten consumers try to include healthy foods at least once a day, however here are a few of my tips if you struggle with that and how you can make a few changes to better your lifestyle. Make simple everyday swaps. We all live busy lifestyles and in a busy society. With that focus on small daily shortcuts that are realistic rather than forcing yourself, should you not be able to include certain foods in your meal throughout the day.

Try these quick and simple swaps - give this a shot and see what difference in the lifestyle you reach.

Boardroom conference vs. walking meeting
Swap your sedentary internal office meeting for a walking meeting. Forget booking a room for 30 minutes, make a few trips around the office building and add a burst of physical activity to your day.

Gym vs. five minute routine
Eliminate the guilt of missing a day at the gym. Do jumping jacks or crunches during television commercials. This five-minute routine burns calories and keeps you from mindlessly munching in front of the TV. Do several sets and have it add up to 20min per day.

Salad dressing vs. rice vinegar
Replace heavy salad dressing with a light vinaigrette. Simply whisk together Natural Rice Vinegar, garlic, salt, mustard powder, sesame oil, sesame seeds and canola oil in a measuring cup. Pour over arugula and tomato halves for a delicious salad.

Butter and oil vs. avocado
Instead of making your favorite baked goods with oil or butter, use mashed avocado. The substitution of avocado in baked goods helps increase their nutritional value and serves as a great alternative to ingredients that are high in saturated fat. My wife and I both love Avocados and they offer (add) a subtle flavor and creamy texture to any recipe.

Mid-morning snack vs. almonds
Control hunger by eating a few almonds instead of a mid-morning pastry. A study published in the European Journal of Nutrition found that almonds helped control appetite and resulted in reduced calorie intake by the study participants.

So rather than grabbing a pair of M&Ms, I should have sought out for alternatives or come prepared knowing what my day would be like. Think about simple swaps you can make during your day to incorporate healthier choices to your daily routine (Use the stairs rather than the elevator). Let me know in the comments below what else you do during your day that perhaps I could incorporate into mine as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48