PART 1 OF 10 CHALENGES LIVING WITH RA, "ONLY OLD PEOPLE HAVE ARTHRITIS"?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow Steemians. Today is the first part of my blogs on Rheumatoid Arthritis and it's challenges people like myself face on a regular basis. If you seen my first post several days ago on my battle with living with Rheumatoid Arthritis for the past 26 years. I was diagnosed when I was 24 yrs old.

I couldn't tell you how many times during the course of my last 24 yrs have I heard from people "oh your to young to have arthritis" or "I thought only old people get Arthritis" but that is not the case. I'll tell you a little about the disease and hopefully it will help educate other's out there with the same presumption about this disease.

Rheumatoid Arthritis is an auto immune disease that causes chronic inflammation of the joints. Auto immune disease's are illnesses that occur when the body's tissue are mistakenly attached by their own immune system. It is a destructive fluid in joint disease that is caused by inflammation in the tissue that normally produces lubrication fluid for joints. When the tissue remains inflammed it leads to deformity by loosening joint ligaments and to joint destruction by eroding away cartilage and bone. It is known that 103 million people in the United States have this disease. It can also affect and attach your organs as well.

With this thought of Arthritis being an old person's disease is not true. Babies can be born with Rheumatoid Arthritis. Anyone under the age of 16 the disease is known as Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. It is hard at birth to know your child has this disease because thy can't communicate it to their parent's. However it is diagnosed by symptoms like sore and red inflammed joints in the first years of a baby life. Rheumatoid Arthritis is the only form of arthritis that can be detected by blood test. I hope this helps all of us out there with this horrible painful and debilitating disease, by letting other's know around you that it's just not an old person's disease.

I hope you continue following my next post for the 2nd challenges of people living with RA. Thank you for your time and I look forward to trying the educate those of us that are not aware of this disease. Thank you to all my follower's for following.

Pics by Pixabay

SOURCES AND LINKS:

http://www.webmd.com/rheumatoid-arthritis/an-overview-of-rheumatic-diseases#1
https://www.rheumatology.org/I-Am-A/Patient-Caregiver/Diseases-Conditions/Rheumatoid-Arthritis
https://www.informationvine.com/index?qsrc=999&qo=semQuery&ad=semD&o=603550&l=sem&askid=4559e746-b702-48af-8cd
http://www.medicinenet.com/rheumatoid_arthritis/article.htm

IF YOU LIKE WHAT YOU READ PLEASE "UPVOTE" "RESTEEM" MY POST

PLEASE FOLLOW ME @happyhousewife I WILL FOLLOW YOU BACK

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post to be original and upvoted it.

Thank you @originalworks I will follow back

I have severe rheumatoid arthritis and I am 45. I was on a shot ($1500 per month) called symponi, and it worked for years until I was told that due to my situation, O-care was not going to provide it anymore and it stopped. I researched and found Moringa- it's 100% natural and I have no symptoms at all anymore--- 2 years off the shot and no issues... check it out-

Thank you @bfhomestead I actually took Simponi and Orencia but only had major side effects. I will research Moringa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62