When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Lemon Water

in #health7 years ago

Let’s talk about lemons.

I never liked lemons when I was young, simply because they are well, sour. But ever since I read an article about the benefits of lemons about a year back, my impression of lemons took a 180 degree turn. Lemons became a crucial part of my daily morning routine and a constant occupier in my fridge.

Besides being an excellent source of Vitamin C, lemons are also power packed with B-complex vitamins as well as nutrients like calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium, and fiber. (Yes, all these in one inexpensive lemon!)

Today, I will share about a habit I have cultivated using lemons over the past year. It is so simple, your toes may be laughing. Nonetheless, it is worth a try if you haven’t already done so.

I drink a glass of lemon water every morning before breakfast.

I used to struggle with constipation and bloatedness in the past, until I read that lemon helps to aid digestion as it loosens toxins in your digestive tracts. After a month of lemon water, I really found my condition improving. In fact, I am quite sure my bloated tummy got flatter. You may read about the 11 benefits of drinking lemon water here, though some research has argued if they are really 100% valid. For me, it definitely worked well in rehydrating and flushing out toxins after a night’s sleep. Plus, it’s such a refreshing perk-me-up drink to have in the morning.

To make lemon water, all you need is basically well, lemon and water. No brainer huh?

But here are some tips for optimal results:

  1. To save time, I usually pre-cut my lemon into thin wedges and store them in the fridge.
  2. Use warm water instead of room temperature water
  3. Squeeze the lemon juice into the water first before dropping the lemon wedge in
  4. Drink it all up right away (yes, don’t stop to check FB or IG)
  5. Allow 30-45 minutes before having your first meal for the lemon to work its magic
  6. Rinse your mouth after drinking as the acidity of the lemon may erode the enamel of the teeth (or do not brush teeth right away!)
  7. *Bonus: After drinking the lemon water, use the leftover lemon wedge to polish your taps. They will shine like diamonds!

3353f5_655cb5607939488695ef2f1351dfcd76-mv2.jpg

So... When life gives you lemons, don’t go making the overly sweet lemonade… make lemon water instead!

3353f5_d779108604204e01941a04eec0bd954f-mv2.jpg

Sort:  

Lemon are good for our health. I love them.

I must say I do feel better when I drink lemon water. I was doing it for a while and then I got lazy haha. I'm gonna have to start again!

Great in anything like juices or just with honey when your down!
@ch00fy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56085.77
ETH 2369.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31