You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Water Quality Is Really Important: We Share Our Easy and Effective Options For Water Purification, Which Can Save Your Life In The Zombie Apocalypse or a Simple Trip to Mexico

in #health8 years ago (edited)

When I'm travelling in the backcountry, and I'm in a fire-dominated ecosystem, I prefer boiling over an open fire as the most sustainable way to purify water. Otherwise, I use PolarPure, which is iodine crystals in a little bottle that I keep topping off with water. I add that solution to my 'wild water' and let it sit. The nice thing about iodine is that it's effectiveness depends on Time, Temperature, and Concentration. So I can make tradeoffs. I've used PolarPure for days, weeks, and months at a time on different trips. It's the most cost-effective, lightest, and most reliable thing I've found, besides boiling water with local material.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63