Foam Rolling Can Help Reduce Chronic Pain

in #health7 years ago

I recently discovered the benefits of foam rolling, thanks to a suggestion made by my physical therapist. I'd like to share my experience, as it has helped relieve Fibromyalgia muscle pain.

What is foam rolling?

Its a form of Self Myofascial Release that is used by many in the world of fitness and physical therapy. It can also benefit those who suffer from chronic pain. It is done by lying on the ground, and placing the foam roller between the body and the ground. The foam roller is pressed against the targeted muscle group, and the body is moved back and forth in a slow, steady, "rolling" motion.

How does this help?

The idea behind foam rolling is that it targets the muscles, and connective tissue (Fascia) holding the muscles together. Foam rolling helps the Fascia regain elasticity which reduces pain and constricted blood flow.

It helps relax tight muscles, and speed up recovery time after workouts. There is evidence to suggest that foam rolling can help reduce or temporarily relieve chronic pain.

Foam rolling also stimulates pressure receptors under your skin. Tiffany Field, director of the Touch Research Institute at the University of Miami says, “When you stimulate those pressure receptors, that stimulation increases vagal activity in the brain, which has been linked to relaxation of the nervous system, reduced levels of stress hormones like cortisol and improved pain tolerance."

My results with foam rolling

I first tried foam rolling several months ago, but admittedly didn't give it much of a chance. Some of the positions are awkward, it kind of hurts (sometimes) and it takes a little bit of practice to master the technique.

After foam rolling consistently for 10 days, I have to say I am pleased with the results.

I've been using a soft foam roller first thing every morning, as well as before I go to bed at night. Occasionally I will use it very briefly in the afternoon. This is usually when my pain levels are the highest. I spend 30-60 seconds on each area I am experiencing pain or stiffness. The entire process takes about 5 to 10 minutes.

I don't expect that the average person would need to use it so frequently, but Fibromyalgia produces a very stubborn, persistent pain.

I have to say I do notice a difference almost immediately after completing a session. Its helped reduce morning aches and stiffness, especially in trouble areas like my upper back, shoulders, hips, and thigh muscles. Foam rolling at night has helped me relax and fall asleep easier. Its reduced the amount of tossing and turning before finding the least painful position to sleep in. I'm in a better mood when I wake up, and I feel more rested. Its helped me develop a better self care routine.

I will be maintaining this routine in the weeks to come, and hopefully continue to see beneficial changes.

There are plenty of Youtube videos demonstrating the correct way to foam roll. This is important, to reduce the chance of injury. If you are interested in learning I suggest starting there. Here's one by SittingSolutions TV, that I've used for upper back pain.

Sources are linked below. If you are interested in learning more about foam rolling, they are also a great place to start!

https://www.strengthandconditioningresearch.com/foam-rolling-self-myofascial-release/

http://time.com/4653956/foam-roller-workout-recovery/

Image Credit: https://pixabay.com/

Sort:  

Sorry to hear you are having to deal with fibromyalgia. That sucks. I have costochondritis, which causes chronic pain, particularly in my left chest, upper body, arm and shoulder similar to fibromyalgia. I learned about foam rolling from my chiropractor and it does help. Wish you the best!

Thank you! I'm sorry to hear you suffer from chronic pain as well. It can be difficult to find ways to manage it, as I'm sure you know. I am always thankful when I find something that helps. Best of luck to you !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85