Lifting routines and modify them to work for you

in #health6 years ago

Today is Monday, international chest day. Not only do I work on the chest today I do a couple of other muscle workouts too. I have a reason or two for doing that. One is I can spread all my workouts over the next 5 or 6 days and avoid muscle failure and fatique. My other reason is I can have an easier time to work out every muscle group twice a week. Here's what I do for my workout today.

•Lat pulldowns
•Dumbbell rows
•Close grip bench
•CableTricep pulldowns or Skull crushers (You can do both or one or the other)
•Seated rows
•Dips

The first thing I do when I go work out is I go do cardio. I like to go on a stationary bike machine. I do cardio before my workout for two reasons. The first one is to lose weight and since I am in ketosis it can greatly help in burning my fat stores. And my second reason is it helps out with muscle growth even more than just by lifting weights alone. I don't how it works out that way, but I just know that it does. So your getting a 2 in 1 deal with it and it helps when you have cheated on the carbs with that cookie.

chest day.jpg

I would suggest doing 4 sets of 12 reps on each workout and to go light enough on the weights so you can do all 12 reps on all 4 sets. If your getting muscle fatique or even muscle failure before you're done than you know you need to go lighter for the next time you do these lifts. And when I'm in mid lift, I try to squeeze or flex the muscle I'm working out. The reason for me doing this is if I'm on the bench and I squeeze and flex my pecks I'm concentrating my effort on using my pecks doing the majority of the work and relying less on my shoulders and tricep muscles on doing the work. The same idea of flexing mid lift is the same for every other workout you do.

During the week as I go along with my workouts I will write up a post for what workouts I will do for the day and make this gym workout in a series so I can make these posts short and not have a long post for everybody to have to go through for just a few days worth of workouts. Not only that but but on these workouts I'm going to mix things up with what workouts I do on what day and how many I do along with how much I do at the same time. I do this as part of the whole concept that Arnold Schwarzenegger has said before by "Confusing the muscle". Arnold also goes into how your body will adjust to what you do and will say that "I know your going straight to this lift with this lift and then your going over here with this lift and then your going to do it this many times. I have you figured out". You wont be able to grow as big and as fast if you don't change your routine and confuse your muscles on how much of what you do and when you do it.

number of sets.jpg

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51