Cons of being a programmer for long time

in #health8 years ago


(Picture from xkcd: https://xkcd.com/448/)

Programming career is often considered one of the better options, as there is constantly growing demand and it pays well. People often don't say too much about cons of being a programmer though.

So here it is, after 23 years of coding:

  1. My back hurts very often, because when I was younger I ignored the need for proper management of my own health. Most programmers still ignore it. It's serious issue, folks.
  2. My eyes adjusted to my screen, which means I see poorly even on relatively short distance. This is serious too
  3. I still pull all-nighters and often sleep for whole days, because it became a habit that's very hard to get rid of. I found that it's much better for me to wake up early, like 5:00 or 6:00 AM and do most of the coding then, but old habits die hard...

I regret nothing though, at least not yet, but if I could, I would change my health-related choices.

The bottom line is this - it's really easy to ignore these issues when we are young, because what the hell, we still feel great, while bad habits slowly build up...

Sort:  

Yeah, back eyes and NECK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55093.98
ETH 2894.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22