Want to try eating Gluten Free, Think it will be too hard? Think Again!

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Don't think you could live without the now unhealthy carb? That's what I thought! 

Not only can eliminating gluten from your diet clear up Heath & Energy issues, it can help some people lose weight, so why not give it a try, too hard you say? It can be extremely overwhelming at first, there were actually days I would feel like crying 😢 , why me, why does it have to be my favorite type of foods that make me sick, why couldn't I have an intolerance to asparagus? Well my mom (who has an intolerance to even more foods than I do) made a pretty good statement that helped a smidgen - Instead of focusing on what you can not have, focus on what you can! Not only in the world of food but for life in general I believe that is a good statement.

To start off here is a list of foods/food categories/ that do not have gluten/wheat without getting into recipes.

  • All Fruits & Vegatables (including potatoes) & Herbs
  • Rice
  • Corn 
  • Oats (milled on a gluten free mill if you have celiac disease)
  • Meats (Red & Lean examples: Beef, Chicken, Turkey, Pork,Fish,Srimp) 
  • Nuts & Seeds 
  • Milks & Basic dairy before additives such as yogurt, cheese (Cow milk, Almond Milk, Coconut Milk) 
  • Beans & Lentils 
  • Spices NOT in a mix or packet such as Plain salt (I love Pink Himalayan Salt), pepper, garlic, basil, etc.
  • Oils & Butters 


When it got broken down to me like that, it seemed a teeny tiny bit easier, I knew the base of foods I could eat, if I needed to cook myself a meal I needed to know what I could not eat. Anything wheat or made of wheat which is in many things that I didn't realize, such as spices, sauces & gravys you  MUST be careful of seasonings and season mixes  that contain wheat or flour (most flour is made from wheat unless it specifies almond flour, rice flour, etc.)  Wheat flour is an inexpensive additive that helps to thicken many of the sauces) 

Here is the good news about foods that usually are made from or contain wheat/gluten such as noodles, breads, cookies, cereal, flour- There ARE companies that make those items from other flours not made of wheat, so look 👀 out for the good ol "Gluten Free" writing on those items . There are brands like Udi's , Pamela's, Glutino, Bob's Red Mill, and others that specialize in gluten free foods and have factories where everything is made in or milled where there is no gluten.

A HUGE benefit to gluten free of cooking & baking world is flour not made with gluten. If you cook and substitute regular flour with gluten free flour then your options are almost endless. My favorite gluten free flour that I swear you can not taste a difference is "King Arthur Gluten Free Multi-Purpose Flour" , they also make bread & cookie mixes! *make sure you read the instructions on any gluten free flour so you know the exact ratio , weather it's an exact replacement or for example a quarter cup different measurements. My fave brand in an exact measurement match by the way.

If the label does not specify "gluten free" and has a list of ingredients, here are some key words to look out for that= gluten - Wheat (any ingredient with the word wheat) Rye, Barley, Triticale, Malt, Brewers Yeast, Bulgar, Durum, Fargo/Faro, Graham, Kamut, Matzo, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protien, Seatin, Semolina, Spelt. 

A gluten free tip, when you see any writings, articles, posts, etc. in case you didn't already know gf is gluten free. 

That is the quick beginners run down for starting to shop , cook, and eat gluten free. I always try to also eat as organically as possible also , keep in mind the same chemicals and pesticides found in wheat are also in other grown foods. 

You can do it! Like anything you try to accomplish in life you must keep a positive outlook & attitude. Get ready to feel better 

More actual gf recipes & tips are to come. 


Sort:  

Much! When I start to feel sorry for myself I think that if it were just about 5 or more years ago it would be a much harder much less tasty task!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52