First Aid for the Homestead- Part 1

in #health7 years ago (edited)

ambulance.jpg

Disclaimer: This post and future medical/health posts by @goatgarden are for educational purposes only and not intended for diagnosis, treatment, or to replace professional hands-on training.

If you are a prepper or homesteader, you have undoubtedly considered emergency first aid a priority. You never know when you might sustain an injury, whether from a pocket knife or a chainsaw, and having some basic supplies on hand is by all means a necessity. So, what should you have on hand? Is a first aid kit from Walmart sufficient? Or do you need more than that? Do you know how to stop bleeding from a severe wound?

As a prepper/homesteader you may have sought out some education on this subject, but if not, you probably know you need to. In my experience as a paramedic, the average person doesn't have even the most basic of these skills. Not everyone was in the boy scouts or the military.

In this post I will begin with what items you should keep on hand. In future posts I will cover more about how to use these items effectively. But, let me be clear. Just reading my posts isn't enough. You can't really develop a skill without training and practice. If you have the opportunity, take a first responder course or EMT course through your local EMS service or Fire Department. Get your hands dirty and your feet wet. Ask your EMS service if they allow people to "ride-along" so you can see it first hand. Get to know experienced professionals and pick their brains a little. It literally may save someone's life.

So, down to the nitty-gritty details...

I bought a first aid kit. I'm good, right???"

Not necessarily. In fact, probably not at all. There are some decent kits out there these days, but most locally purchased first aid kits have items you already have on hand at home, and very little in the way of real necessities. Band-aids, triple antibiotic ointment and tylenol are not what you need to treat a serious injury. Someone throws these items in a handy red pouch with some 2x2 gauze and a roll of gauze wrap and overcharges you, leaving you with the illusion that you are ready for anything. If you cut your leg with a chainsaw, you will quickly find out otherwise.

So what do I need?

Lets start with the basics. GLOVES. Always protect yourself when treating someone else. We often tell patients who seem offended that we wear gloves, "I wouldn't work on my own grandmother without gloves on." And it is true. Even if I wasn't concerned with bio-hazards, who wants someone's blood on their hands? Would you pick their nose for them? You can get latex or non-latex, from small to XXL. I recommend non-latex, as many people have an allergy to latex.

Basic Bandaging Supplies

4x4 gauze bandages (For the smaller cuts)

5x9 gauze bandages (For the "little bit bigger" cuts. These will take care of most lacerations.)

---consider buying "Telfa" no-stick bandages for easier dressing changes---

10x30 trauma dressings (For the big ones. These are big and you won't likely use them often)

Rolled gauze (For wrapping the wound after dressing with above bandages)

Coban Self Adherent Wrap (Looks like a small "ace" bandage wrap. It sticks to itself and is perfect for over-wrapping after rolled gauze has been applied. It eliminates cutting and tying or taping the gauze. This is sold as horse wrap at farm stores and comes in many colors.)

EMS scissors (They will cut through clothing, seat belts and even wire if necessary.)

bandages.jpg

Cost

Most of the items in this list will cost $5-$10 USD. You can get it all on ebay and buy a quantity that will replenish for several uses. If you have fellow homesteaders or preppers, consider buying together to offset the cost. Divide these items into different kits. One for the house, one for the car, one for the tractor...you get the idea.

Wait...that's it?

Certainly not, but it is a good start. I will continue to add items in future posts, as well as instructions on how to perform the skills for treating basic injuries. But, remember, this is for educational purposes only!

Input from you?

Are there certain items or skills you would like covered or demonstrated in this series? Remember, I'm trying to stay basic here, so we won't be covering amputations or gall bladder removals.

Sort:  

What a wonderful post. Your list of needs is excellent. You might also look into having a good selection of herbs and essential oils. In case of a severe cut, I learned just how fast sugar worked my first year on our Alaska homestead, when I was 19 and a little lost still. Essential Oils can provide you with needed natural antibiotics. and much more. Your on the right tract. Followed and upvoted.

Thank you. Natural remedies and essential oils is something I don't have much experience with. I'm learning though! A friend of mine uses basil essential oil for joint pain associated with Lyme disease. He said it works instantly, so I'm intrigued.

There are so many things. Some of my everyday uses are Oregano, which is a hot oil, and must be diluted to use. It can burn the skin if not deluited. I take Olive oil or Coconut Oil as my main carrier oils. I take an ounce or so and add a few drops of Oregano, ginger, lavender, or others to rub on areas that are painful. I use raw garlic if I get a fast raise in blood pressure that is way high. It will drop it fast and then you can call the doctor. I peel ginger and add 3 parts water to 1 part honey. I cook on simmer for over 1 hour. The liquid is a good ginger sauce for ice cream, pancakes, waffles, etc. I can the sauce to have on hand when I want. The ginger I then dry and I have it to eat as needed for indigestion or pain relief. Ginger tea is great also. Combine ginger and turmeric in stir fries and you will get a lot of benefits. Sugar will stop bleeding on a deep cut very fast. Then you can butterfly it if it looks like it needs stitches. Food and herbs if used correctly can take care of most of your needs.

We have used Ginger and tumeric quite a bit. I've made Ginger tea and Ginger beer. We also make kombucha and I have done a second ferment with Ginger and honey. Awesome! I agree. "Let thy food be thy medicine". I can't remember who said that but it is good.

I make my own kombucha too @goatgarden ~ And with a second ferment of finely chopped organic ginger. Will have to add a little honey as well sometimes.

Speaking of honey. It's also great for putting onto cuts. A friend cut the top of one of her fingers really badly and just applied manuka honey and a firm bandage ~ It healed SO well.

Honey is an amazing thing.

What a great post. Thanks for sharing. Question, is the clot (expensive) gauze really worth it.?

Yes. Quick clot is a good product. It is expensive, but used properly it is worth the money.

Thank you. Tempting to pick some up.

My pleasure. I'm happy to answer any questions I can.

I'm a retired farmer. And I think it's important for aspiring homesteaders, farmers, ranchers and those who plan on living a subsistence lifestyle to understand just what they are actually getting themselves into and just how dangerous the business is.....

The occupational hazards are many --- too many to list here. My advice is learn some advanced first aid techniques and think about what you're going to do if a family member has a bad accident , e.g., tips over a tractor, severs an artery with a chainsaw, wife has a miscarriage ,. etc....

My wife almost died from blood loss because of a severe miscarriage .. She was working out in the Hayfield when it happened... Within 20 min her jeans were completely covered in blood .... I was driving my 1972 Chevy pickup up to 90 miles per hour to get her to an emergency room 70 miles away.... Long story short is almost didn't make it..

People need to think closely about the risks of remote living.... I've lost some good friends and family on account of the risks... It goes with the territory ..

Just sayin...

You never know what might happen. I have known many people to take an EMT course just for this knowledge. Homesteaders and peppers tend to live father away from help and it is good to know what to do. Even city dwellers have to wait sometimes for an ambulance. We have 3 ambulances serving thousands of people and we get very busy at times and have to rely on services from other counties to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79