Personal Experience of Nine Months 100% Liquid DietsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

I've been solely living on liquid future food for nine months now, and I'd like to talk a little bit about what I've noticed during this time frame.

0101_gallery.jpg
Soylent add

Power Up


The first thing that changed for the better is my energy. Before the liquid diet, I had a lot of swings regarding energy availability. Sometimes I had fatigue issues. Recently I learned that this might have something to do with the fact that I drastically cut down my meat consumption starting around 2013. I went from 3 to 4 times a week to 2 to3 times a month. All the time thinking that eating more nuts would do the trick in replacing meat. I should have taken more vitamin B12 for example. You walk you learn.

IMG_1220.jpg

On the liquid diet, my fatigue issues were a thing of the past. I also stopped having food dips or peaks. It all become way more balanced. This is such a beautiful thing to experience, and it's one of the significant bonuses in correlation with the diet. I firmly believe this has a lot to do with the sugar intake. With these types of shakes, it's way less compared to my regular diet.

Balance


This feeling of balance accelerated my mood for the better. I noticed that everything seemed more manageable on a liquid diet. My sleep has never been better and starting the day is more of a gradual transition. This is also partly due to the 20 min vipassana morning meditations I do every day. Still, I can say that it has improved for the better once I started drinking all my food.

Screen-Shot-2017-05-02-at-10.13.01.jpg
Here I'm balancing a bag of Soylent on my head during my visit in silicon valley

To have a gradual morning routine is super important and has a lot of impact throughout the day. It might be different for others but if I compare the days were my routine is pretty strict to the days where it's more of loose ends both productivity, and mood are way up with a strict routine. Because of the routine you also safe a lot of time which is definite emphasized if you stick with a liquid diet. I usually make my break fast shakes fresh, but when I'm in a rush, I prepare them. Serious time management tool.

Flavors and Taste


This is actually a bit of a downside. So far the most brands have a standard flavor option ranging from vanilla, chocolate strawberry, etc. Not the most exciting flavors if you ask me. Especially after nine months it gets a bit, well boring and at times even unpleasant. Through the time I discovered that natural and vanilla versions are far better if you consume on a regular base. This might sound like a paradox, but for me a non specific natural taste is much better. Sometimes less is more.

IMG_0376.jpg
Pulve

FullSizeRender.jpg
Jimmy Joy's Plenny Shake

I do have to admit that I'm biased due to the amounts I consume. I drink this all day long, for nine months straight, so yes that plays a significant role. Another thing to keep in mind is that this industry is relatively young. Most of these brands are lean startups, and it's tough to come up with a wide variety of flavors if you also want to make a profit. I can't mention any details, but I know that certain brands are working hard on the taste issues as well as implementing natural options in their products.

Your Teeth Will Fall Out!

Before the start of this diet, the majority of people I spoke to was concerned. I get it. It's far from an ordinary lifestyle (although I believe ordinary is the most boring option you can take in life, that's something I'll address in another post).
The things I was asked the most were questions like: won't you loose like shit loads of weight? Aren't your teeth going to fall out? You'll be having constant diarrhea! You'll end up in the hospital...

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 18.21.40.png
Monthly check up at OLVG West Hospital

None of the above happened. Ok, I lost quite some weight, but that had mainly to do with the fact that I listened to my nutritionist. From the start, she was worried about the amount of protein in these shakes. She thought it was way too high and there for I should try to not over consume. This let to a severe decrease in weight. I reached a very critical BMI, and that was a scary and arduous thing to handle mentally due to my friends and family getting anxious. I decided to take my chances with the protein intake and start eating the amounts I felt I needed. And voila, my weight went back up, and currently, I'm back to my regular weight and BMI.

But Why?!


I think the main reason that I'm doing a 100% liquid diet with MRP shakes is to show that it is, in fact, possible to live on it and feel good. Now that does not mean I'm advocating such a lifestyle. I'm simply going against the odds. And today's food odds are, well, not that good. So many people still eat junk food. And by junk food, I also mean a lot of products that you can get in any supermarket.

maxresdefault.jpg
Image Credit

The biggest problem is that people (as well as general practitioners) are not adequately educated on nutrition. That's a serious issue. If I walk down any supermarket and grab a random item the first thing I do is to check the labeling. I'm going to eat this, so I want to know what it is I'm going to eat. And today there are a bunch of food apps that can help you with that.

I'd like to end with claiming that I'm far from understanding nutrition enough to make specific claims. By making this documentary, I hope I can inspire people to start looking at food from a different perspective. And wow, are we living in interesting time these days! I've seen so many amazing developments from the nutrition point of view well as apps and gadget point of view during the production of this documentary.

We are on the verge of a massive food revolution. Or maybe it has already started?


Thank you so much for reading, and I sincerely hope that you have some feedback in regards to what I've just been ranting about. So far any types of feedback have helped me tremendously along the process of this film.


FF_Steemit_banner_03.jpg

Sort:  

Fascinating read @futurefood
I've heard a lot of good thing about Soylent!
I have some weight I need to take off. Just don't think I can do it for more than a couple weeks...lol

Thnx! You don't have to go 100% Replacing your breakfast could be a start? It really helps with decreasing the snack urge.

Yea, I have a bad snack habit lol
I think your right about starting slow.
Think I'll take your advice and start with breakfast at 1st. Thanks Again...

decreasing the snack habit is such a liberation. Seriously. It's like nothing I've ever experienced with food. It will give you more power mentally to pursue your goals. I'll write about it more in the coming posts. KEEP UP

Congratulations @futurefood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool! So can I use this badge in my next posts??

Geat work my dear so I vote you

Thanks for sharing. The first time I came across this fluid food intake was when I watched as a child my heroos the cosmonauts in space.
Good luck.

Thanks! Funny that you mention that, I'm visit the European Space Agency this week. Expect a post about that soon :)

I look forward reading your new post. Take care.

thanks!

Liquid food indeed sounds like straight out of a SciFi movie. Wall-E comes to my mind instantly. Just people there were not slim... For me I see the positive side of protein shakes/liquid food especially while traveling. I just called my mom recently asking her to find the leftover powder-bag so I can take it with me.

But on the other hand, when I am thinking about what's happening inside my stomach I kinda prefer to having it digest "real food" like berries and rice and stuff instead of some kinda dead powder. But in the end most of us are eating so much shit nowadays that consuming liquid food probably even is the better option.

Anyway, thank you for sharing your self-study with us and good luck with your documentary! (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ

Thanks for you comment! Small side note, these are not protein shakes. But I'm sure you got that. I can imagine that you'd prefer "real" food over powder. Their are a few options like German based Bertrand and Finland based Ambronite who source their ingredients form "real" food.

https://bertrand.bio/

https://ambronite.com/

As I am from Germany I instantly had to check bertrand out. Surprised that I have not heard about them yet but definitely someone to have an eye on.

amazing post...!!
good diet..but definitely for small duration :)
I will definitely give it a try on this..!!
liquid food..!!
sounds interesting..!
upvoted and followed..!
have a nice day..!

m new to steem it, do give a visit to my account if possible :)

Thanks for your kind words and welcome to Steemit! You should try to find a good profile pic! comes across more solid :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81