A Personal Update

in #health7 years ago

Whoosh... Do you know where the past 9 days or so went? In this post, I'll share some of the things that happened in my life and why there was 'no time' for Steemit.

1, 2, 3 people sick all at once

I was under the weather for a couple of days, then as soon as I felt a little better, my husband began complaining and my son wasn't feeling well either. After 4 days we were all sick at the same time and played the game of who is feeling worse until my mum came to our rescue and nursed all three of us back to health. We are almost all recovered now, but I'm happy to report that my mum will be here all week to make sure we get back into the swing of things without too much trouble.

New beginnings

My fall semester just began, with the first lecture today. I'm pursuing my master's degree and while I love my field of study, I'm not very fond of the constant new beginnings we are faced with at the moment. Things keep changing. The campus isn't fully up and running - we were in a room today with no power outlets that worked. Our professor had a slide show the lecture was based on that only he was able to see.
Then there is the new rhythm to adjust to, new timetables, new subjects, new professors, it is all so new and I'm a fan of rhythm and familiarity. In a month or so I will have adjusted but until then my life will be slightly chaotic.

sven-scheuermeier-106767.jpg
Source

Making sacrifices

We have a meeting setup with the bank at the end of the month, to go over the specific numbers of the budget that will allow us to buy property at some point. As you might know, we've made some changes. In order to further beef up our down payment fund, we've decided to stop our Netflix subscription, as they once again increased the fee. By the end of September, we should have both much cheaper internet and no TV in any way. All we will have for entertainment will be the movies we already own and youtube, but I'm not concerned. I will most likely be too busy to watch much of anything anyway.

September plans

I will try my best to get a couple of posts out every week during September but don't be alarmed if I'm a little quiet. I'm not giving up on the platform at all, I'm simply putting other things ahead of it at the moment. I will be back with a vengeance.

Sort:  

It seems as though this time of year is hectic for so many people.
Congratulations on the master's degree studies! That is a great accomplishment to attempt. I wish you all the luck with it!

Thank you so much.
It is a hectic time for many people, especially for people in school or with school aged children. I'm hoping to write my thesis come spring, so I have a lot of work on my hands but have been enjoying it so far.

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

This is such a busy time for people! Hope your September settles down a bit.

Congratulations @frugallady! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sorry to hear you were all sick! That is no fun. Glad your mom could come and visit.

We also cancelled our Netflix account a year ago while we were considering how to trim down our budget. We did keep the Amazon Prime subscription because we find it pays for itself in the number of things we're able to save on and that comes with a streaming service, but since they're a lot more limited than Netflix we very rarely watch anything on it.

Hope things settle down for you!

Thank you so much.
Prime isn't worth it here (in Denmark,) at least not for us. I think we all figure out what works for us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03