Homemade Cough Syrup!!

in #health6 years ago


Hey guys! So, for the last few weeks I have been a bit ill! We spent a little time at the Grand Canyon, and the drastic temperature change from Las Vegas to the mountains was too much for my poor body. I had something close to a cold, but no one else got it. It did manage to make me cough uncontrollably, and lose my voice for a week!

The good news is that it reminded me of our homemade cough syrup! It also only has one ingredient...are you ready to find out what it is???

Pineapple Juice!


How it works...

Pineapple juice contains bromelain, an enzyme that eats away mucus...it is also anti-inflammatory. If you've ever had your tongue burn while eating pineapple, that's bromelain! Turns out it's not only trying to eat away mucus, but the rest of you as well...but no worries, your stomach acid is stronger. 😉

No kidding, there I was with one of those morning coughing fits. My face was red, my chest was tired...my family was trying to sleep, and I couldn't stop. Then I remembered I had a can ready so I popped it open, and my first sip relaxed my whole chest. The mucus began to break up easier, which really helped my cough.

The easiest way to come by pineapple juice is canned pineapple packaged in 100% juice. You can probably buy it own it's own as well.

Below I've left a recipe from healthline.com for those of you that like to concoct!

1 cup pineapple juice
1 tsp. minced or chopped ginger
1 tbsp. honey
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp. salt

Throw in a blender!

Source


Hope you are all well, and don't need this!



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this recipe. I am getting over a bad cold and I always feel cough syrup and cough drops make it worse. I will definitely give this a try next time I have a coughing fit.

Oh no! It's just that season, isn't it? All the over the counter cough remedies always taste so bad! I find that when the juice is cold it feels even better!

This vlog was so real and dtub is the most uncensored platform so only real people and real solution like this keeps appearing..bye bye Big Pharma..in the future..this is a great syrup..

Haha bye bye Big Pharma! Thank you for the compliment! I love finding ways to heal our bodies with food...for every problem there is a solution!

Definitely something I will try if I get sick :) Thank you for sharing.

Great! I bet you won't regret it...let's just hope it isn't any time soon!

I certainly hope that too hahahahaha call me picky :) Not that I do not want to try your recipe, but I would be comfortable to never have to try it ever :) But if I get sick, I will :)

Hey Stacie! :) That's something I will have to remember for sure thank you for that.

Hey friend! Absolutely...as much I hope you will spend the rest of your life cold free...I hope it works for you! Haha

Well thank you for the post. It just so happens that I have a cough at the moment...so I will be trying out your recipe in the near future. Have a great day and enjoy.

You're welcome! I hope it helps, and you feel better soon!

Greeting @freedomtowrite I'm Mj. Nice to meet you here in DTube . Sorry to hear you got cold in the beautiful place .
Pineapple syrup is a good tip. Here it's cold too so can't avoid cold sometimes and I prefer natural Home remedies or syrup as much as possible. i will try it for sure !
Have a great days ahead .

Hi Mj! You can call me Stacie D 😀 Yes, home remedies are amazing and always my go to. I hope it works for you if you need it!

Hello lovely lady! :D
Thanks for sharing this, I've never found a cough syrup that tasted even remotely worth taking, this might be the one. :D I'm glad you're feeling better now. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Hi there! Thank you!! Cough syrups are seriously the worst. I remember when I was kid throwing up after drinking Vicks 44...I think that was it...I never had to drink it again! Haha

Hello lovely lady! :D You're most welcome. :D
Yes they are, I've never been a fan, but sometimes you just have to suck it up and use some to get any peace. :D Have you ever tried the Buckley's cough syrup? I tried to try it once but made the mistake of breathing in as I got close and the smell changed my mind, LOL. :D
Do your kids like the flavor of your homemade cough syrup? :D I bet they like it much more than any of the ones available in the stores these days. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

@freedomtowrite, That would be really important introduction how we made homemade cough syrup. Peoples not to be good healthy always. Cough come to us very easily. In fact keep cough syrup better for immediate treatment. Thanks for given recipe to us and explained. For see more further Dtube I followed you.
#snapcomment

Thank you for following me! Yes, keeping it on hand for immediate use is a great idea! I hope you are doing well!

I am going to write this one in my cookbook, too good to forget. Thank you.

You're welcome! I hope you don't need it anytime soon!

A good summer cough remedy

Posted using Partiko Android

Anytime it's a wet cough it will work no matter the season! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81