Muscle Memory

in #health5 years ago

Muscle memory discovery ends 'use it or lose it' dogma
https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2019/01/190125084106.htm
Exercise physiologists agree: muscle memory is real. But how are these 'memories' stored? A review has a simple answer: nuclei gained during training persist even when muscle cells shrink due to disuse or start to break down. This means we can 'bank' nuclei in our youth to prevent frailty in old age -- and makes steroid use in competitive sport a perfect but irredeemable crime.

Studies like these are part of why I am so adamant about my boys having a healthy active childhood. The ability of the body to maintain the memory of fitness through life means that if they are able to set those baseline levels of strength, endurance, and nuclei when young then they will have a much better chance of maintaining or will be able to re-achieve the same or better levels when older. I am well aware of this in my own life. I ran for most of my childhood up until my early 20s when I stopped. 5 years ago at age 35 I started running again and found that I was able to return to a speed and endurance level as good as when I quit.

Img Src

BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52