Sort:  

Remember pixie stix? sugar in a straw! I don't know how I am alive. before information was broadcasted online, we went by what we heard or saw on tv - which turns out to be a dangerous way to live.

Thyroid issue is controllable by diet, right? Sorry to hear that 🙁

My thyroid gland was "killed" using radioactive 131 Iodine. I have to take a pill every day to make up for the missing hormones it produced. Diet ruined it though. I would not have had "Graves Disease" as they call an overactive gland if it were not for the insane amount of table sugar I was consuming (that's my assumption at least).

Yeah, I would eat powdered tang from a cup. My parents had no clue about nutrition apparently. We drank sugar tea with 1 cup of sugar per gallon as well. Between the tons of caffeine and sugar, it's no wonder my glands were in distress.

Man... Sorry to hear that! I consumed incredible amounts of sugar at a young age as well, so I can't imagine any of it will reward me with good health in the future.

Sleeping 4-5 hours per night is bad enough, but some days I drink enough coffee to kill a small animal. Trying to keep my kids healthy and happy sometimes seems like I sacrifice my own health. I know there's a better way. I'm just hopeful I can reduce the stress impact on my body and also the 'bad' stuff that I intake (mainly coffee) before I have to due to illness or disease.

If your assumption is correct, I'm probably in trouble right there with you.

I've tried to go without 7-8 hours of sleep before, and I just couldn't do it. If I exercise regularly, I can get away with about 6. I'm not sure how you do it on 4-5! It makes it so I cannot concentrate, so I'm better off sleeping more. :)

I burn out frequently. It's really hard later in the week. It really catches up. My wife says I'm a machine because I've done it for so long and I'm really not sure how. I can say I feel exponentially better when I get a solid 8, but I'm lucky if that's once a week. My toddlers never nap and are full power from sunrise until 10pm + sometimes. If we start at 7:30pm, they will be asleep by 9:30. The length of bedtime prep increases daily..haha it is impossible to sleep unless they sleep first. Then factor in potty training and accidental bed wetting every few nights and that 4-5 turns into 2-3 fast! It's chaos, but I put my parents through the same... Payback I suppose!

Ha! I understand all that well of course with having three little ones. These days I work 60 hour work weeks, and Fridays are hard. I'm dragging right now. The one day, Saturday, I have off from the hamster wheel is spent doing work around the house too. It's all worth it though!

I tip my hat to you and your wife because two is chaos for me, so 3 is..well your strength and determination is admirable. I think I'd be in the nut-house..lol when they are close in age they team up..haha but I haven't told you anything you don't know! It is worth it, but sometimes you have to make the little things really count big..otherwise ya go nuts