Coconut Oil for the Soul

in #health7 years ago

coconut-oil.jpg
If wishes were horses…

I recently got a bottle of the most beautifully scented organic coconut oil from Mariam, a friend from school and I am very happy with it. Coconut is something else when it’s available in an oily state. It loses its hard and fibrous shell so that you don’t have to cut yourself trying to reach the meat. You don’t even have to pick your teeth after snacking on its creamy bits. When you extract the oil, you find that it is gloriously simple, a complete joy.

I remember flopping down on my bed after a particularly long day with my face burning because I had been running my hands over it all day. Over-exertion does that to me sometimes; I just keep rubbing my face without regard for make-up or propriety. On the night of this day, I was forced to look for something to sooth my face after washing it with soap did nothing to ease the sensation.

So, I picked up my bottle of oil thinking that I should give it a try since it ought to have natural healing properties and all. When I opened, I was instantly hailed by the familiar scent of coconut; it was not a bad feeling at all. Minutes after smoothing drops of the light oil on my skin, I felt better. Not only did my skin feel cooler, my mood brightened up and I couldn’t help but offer a quick prayer of thanksgiving to God for the gift of the coconut fruit.

If only I had some coconut oil for my job when the pressure gets too much; Some for my leg when walking becomes a chore; Few drops for my relationship when tension and uncertainty starts to eat deeply into its roots; a large jar to sooth my mind when darkness seeps into its depths and an ocean full for my bank account when my bank statement’s font color goes from black to red — yes, money not manners maketh a man (Sorry, Galahad!)
It would be awesome, no?

Life would take on a whole new face. I would be brave and completely daring; the poster child for courageous living. Imagine living with the knowledge that nothing could ever go wrong. Because even if it did, all I would have to do would be to apply some coconut oil and it will be alright.

sigh.png

If wishes were horses… right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63