You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple Secrets to Happiness #1: You Can’t Do It All (PLUS a giveaway)

in #health7 years ago

For myself, I don't think my happiness is so complicated. Give me animals to love, my husband to keep me company, wilderness to roam, landscape to view, food to eat, a garden to grow, and friends to support - I think that's all I need.

Sort:  

You are right. I love the simplicity that comes with the homesteading direction. I think it is a life of peace to get off the consumerism, busy city hamster wheel. However, for my part, I feel difficulties on achieving this simple happiness as a parent. I want to accomplish or teach this or that with my children, or see a character flaw in them that is disappointing or frustrating, etc, and I feel like I'm failing as a Mom or Wife.

I don't know how old your kids are, but we gotta remember that they make that choice to have ____ character flaw and it's not because you didn't do your best - therefore you did not and have not failed as a mother. No matter how old they are, they do have their own brains and make their own choices whether or not it's "right" or "wrong". We can tell them the "right" way to do things, but in the end, it cannot be forced, only shown.

Yes, as proof, you can see kids in a family behave very differently though all were raised under the same parenting techniques. Kids are individuals with free will and distinct personalities. Gotta keep reminding myself of that, thank you for your advice and encouragement :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65