Fat People

in #health7 years ago



Live Longer
...........................................................................................................................................................................

  • Research on more than 1 million adults found those who were underweight were five times as likely as obese patients to die after a routine cardiac procedure.
    .
    Obese patients fared even better than those of normal weight, the study found, in a phenomenon dubbed “the obesity paradox”.
Sort:  

Now this is something that I didn't expect. I've always thought obesity was a one way ticket to hasten the dirt nap. I've heard the old adage, "You see old smokers and old drunks, but you don't see old fat people." This is extremely interesting and I would love to hear what the reasoning behind these findings are.

I've seen a lot of old fat people...oddly enough they don't look as old as old skinny people..

Could you also conclude that having routine cardiac procedures are hazardous to your health?

800 thousand people in the us die each year with "obesity" listed on their death certificate. This is my niche after I lost "half my size" with natural methods 6 years ago. I've been trying to help people ever since with blogging, books, photos, videos, and anything else I can come up with.

Medical error kills a similar number and obese people are more likely to use medical intervention, so the two are linked as are most other causes of death.

7 out of 10 Americans are obese or overweight. This is definitely the cause of more deaths than are directly linked in the stats. In the 1980's only 1 out of 10 were obese and 2 were over weight. Now 4 are obese and 3 are overweight.

The numbers are worse the younger you go and this is why I fight this battle - for the kids coming up.

Some interesting stats that you have listed.

I have many more since this is what I work on - few are optimistic or positive. I post this when fat people post about the 14K in gun deaths annually. Those deaths are a drop in the bucket, an excuse, and a distraction from the bigger problem in my opinion.

Both have solutions.

Yes, stess, fast living and laziness contributes to overweight people. We need to teach our children to move, stand up, and avoid sitting as much as possible. And being able to use the drive-thru windows, because someone is in a hurry also adds to the list. So, it's lifestyle change that's important to keep fit in this 21 century culture. That's my opionion of course.

I work to help people avoid the poisonous food supply. I consider obese and sick people to be victims of the lies told by the evil-doers manipulating the food commonly available.

Many of the additives in the food supply are toxic endocrine disruptors and addictive. This information is plainly stated on the fda website, yet still this garbage is in 80-90% of the food supply and not reported on or generally known.

The average person has a very hard time breaking free since they are not even aware of the danger. This is the mission I am on - trying to help other people know they are being poisoned and help them learn the steps that will let them break free.

Stress and fast living are definitely a part of the problem. However I disagree with the laziness stigma. Living an obese life is a very hard road. Obese people are exhausted just by getting out of bed in the morning and trying to get ready for the day. They do not have the ability to do better while under this pressure.

My method when I coach people is to add nutrition, rest and exercise. It works like a charm if people try, but unfortunately few do. Poison sucks.

800 thousand people in the us die each year with "obesity" listed on their death certificate
please provide a link.

I use this one for links, but the article itself is out of date. Obesity is up to 36% now. I think it was 28% in 2006 when this was written.

http://www.healthline.com/health-news/children-obesity-behind-eighteen-percent-of-us-deaths-081513#1

The links there take you to many of the government sites where this info is tracked. See the CDC website under US Mortality Causes and Rates and the UN Report on US Population Statistics and Projections. It has been a couple of years since I looked at least, so I would think all the numbers are higher now.

When I did look, I noticed many other deaths from "Inflammatory" chronic diseases commonly suffered by obese people. That is where I work now. I try to get people to stop consuming poison to heal and have better quality of life before they die.

I don't do research into the numbers too much anymore. Seven out of ten Americans are obese or overweight now (CDC Obesity/Overweight Stats). The US used to be second in obesity to Mexico, but surpassed them on the last update.

The people I work with are desperate in their own obesity and don't care about statistics. If I see photos of crowds in the US - I see fat people, so I know my help is needed.

gotta love fanatics..

I don't consider any type of cardiac procedure to be routine

Wow! Wow!! I like your research,because by profession i am scientist we engaged in investigation almost every time.thanks for this post.upvoted

we eat better, tooo

mmmmmmmmm, butterrrrrrrrr

Nice post like it and upvoted!!

I am getting fat but I don't want to. Should I stop drinking beer?

Add nutrition - this is what worked for me. Reduce the bad stuff after your poor body gets some help first.

@jwolf: You gotta stop worrying first. lol. There's a difference between Fat people and Lazy people. I say be fat but not lazy.

That is true but I don't want to be fat :p

Run a little, walk a lot, sit on the floor (good for your posture) a little and make sure you do not eat any thing that is advertised as healthy on television.

I see fitnfun took over your "The Way I See It". I hope she at least upvoted you first. She, as a valued member of the steemit family (her words) told me that my reply wasn't good, on one of my replies, of course. But then she missed her grand teachable moment by being MIA. Is she collecting followers or just being compulsive?
And I take exception to your skinny old comment it's the spring chicken inside of me, you see. Or it's the fact that I wear trifocals!

imitation is the most sincere form of flattery..
I've been plagiarized have I?
Oh...I see the problem.
I had her muted.

We are more happier than others. :)

One thing I have wondered about is do Fat People Float?.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48