Mulligatawny Soup: A Soup With Many Health BenefitssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health8 years ago

Mulligatawny Soup is the national soup of India. Whenever I go to an Indian restaurant I always order Mulligatawny soup.

Here is a video I found for making Mulligatawny soup.



YouTube Channel

Ingredients from the Video

  • Split pigeon pea
  • Rice
  • Onions
  • Boneless Chicken
  • Chicken Stock
  • Bay Leaves
  • Coriander Leaves
  • Salt
  • Coriander Seeds
  • Oil
  • Curry Powder
  • Turmeric Powder
  • Curry Leaves
  • Lemon Juice
  • Black Peppercorn
  • Ginger
  • Garlic
  • Coconut milk

My Quick Technique

My technique for making Mulligatawny soup is to make it using the powdered spices that maximize its health benefits. This technique is quick and easy for me.

I apologize to any culinary experts for taking short cuts.

Spices and My Reasons for Using Them

Ground Coriander

Coriander contains minerals like iron, copper, calcium, potassium, zinc, magnesium, and manganese. Additionally coriander is an anti-oxidant and aids in fighting bacterial infections.

Curry Powder


Image Source

Turmeric Powder


Image Source

Lemon Juice


Image Source

Ground Black Pepper


Image Source

Ground Ginger


Image Source

Garlic Powder


Image Source

Parsley

I use this as a garnish on the soup.


Image Source

My Recipe

I follow along the video using the above spices stirred into the chicken broth. As in the video, I bring it to a boil, then remove from the heat and add Coconut Milk before garnishing with parsley. That is how I make it very quickly.

If you have the time and better culinary skills than I, please follow the recipe in the video for a delicious Mulligatawny Soup.

Observations

I consider Mulligatawny Soup to be much better than plain chicken soup when I am fighting sinus congestion or a cold/flu. Even stirring the spices into the chicken broth seems to help clear my sinuses.

Other Suggestions

Before I came across my final recipe, I watched a lot of Mulligatawny Soup videos. There are many different varieties of Mulligatawny Soup. I am sure you will find one that suits you.

Bon Appetit!

Sources

Coriander seeds nutrition facts

Health Benefits Of Curry Powder

Health Benefits Of Turmeric

Health Benefits of Lemon Juice

Health Benefits Of Black Pepper

Health Benefits Of Ginger

Health Benefits Of Garlic

Health Benefits Of Parsley

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

Excellent post. Delicious sounding recipe.
.
.



ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating BOINC computations for science...


It is very delicious and good for you too!

looks like it really has some great ingredients!

I loved this soup even before I knew all the ingredients. When I learn about the benefits of all the ingredients, I had a very good reason to enjoy it even more.

Steem on,
Mike

Nice... it uses what I use as well, will have to try it... thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83