How I Beat Type II Diabetes -- A New Series of My Personal Struggles and TriumphsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

On 24 April 2015 I was diagnosed as a diabetic with Type II Diabetes by my doctor. On 6 October 2016 my doctor cleared me as no longer being diabetic. So how did I do it?

Disclosure: I am not a physician but I am under a physician's care. And I am not selling a miracle cure or mystical elixar.
In a series of posts I will tell about my struggles and eventual triumph over Type II Diabetes.
I must stress that diabetes has taken its toll on my body which will be with me the rest of my life.

My A1C Story

At the beginning of April 2015 I went in for a routine eye exam to check my eye-glass prescription. The optometrist said I was developing cataracts and asked if I was diabetic. At the time I said no, but said I would go to the doctor to get checked.

MyA1Cchart.PNG
Plot of My A1C Metrics

On 24 April 2015 I went in for my annual physical. The blood tests indicated I was a diabetic. The doctor asked me to come in again to get an A1C test in the office, just to verify the blood test results. On 5 May 2015 my A1C was 13.5. I was prescribed MetFormin and signed up for a Diabetes Class to learn more about diabetes and learn how to test my blood glucose levels at home.

What Is A1C?

The following chart shows how the A1C measure is interpreted and the relationship between blood sugar (BS) and A1C.


Image Source

A drop of blood contains more than a million red blood cells (RBC). And each RBC contains over 600 million hemoglobin. A1C measures the glycation of hemoglobin.


Image Source

A red blood cell (RBC) has a life span of about 120 days. This is how the A1C test can be used to monitor glucose control over the past three months.

8 minute video published by Healthy-ojas

How Did I Lower My A1C?

Much of this will be the subjects of future post, but it all started with monitoring. Every day I monitor my blood pressure and blood glucose levels twice a day.

Blood Pressure Monitor
Blood Glucose Monitor
BP.PNG
BS.PNG
WrisTech Blood Pressure Monitor with Case
One Touch Ultra 2 Blood Glucose Monitor

I keep a diary in MS Excel of my blood pressure and blood glucose level when I wake up, my blood glucose level two hours after lunch, and my blood pressure when I go to sleep. Any changes to my diet and routine are also noted in MS Excel.

My next post on "Beating Type II" diabetes will go into what I learned and what I changed.

Source and More Information

Healthy-ojas -- Vital info for healthier life

Links to Amazon Products in this Blog Are Provided for Your Shopping Convenience

I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for me to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

Diabetes is the most common disease now a days. People do not have proper knowledge about it so they cannot beat it. Your series will have a great impact on this issue.

Thank you! I hope the series will help others, that is why I am willing to share my personal story.

Have a great day!
Steem on,
Mike

Please vote

These series will take this community to a whole new level and people will feel very helpful when they met such articles here on steemit.

Thank you!

I am working on the next installment today.

Have a great weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

Very interesting I will be watching your posts to see what all you have done

Thank you! My next post in this series will talk about some of the side effects of diabetes I have experience.

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

realy nice post.

I am vote you please vote me

Outstanding, Mike. Can't wait to find out what you did. I've been keeping my blood thin with vodka myself, but, there's probly better ways....

Me alegra saber @etcmike que haz triunfado en tu lucha contra la diabetes,gracias a tu perseverancia y dedicación, en mi família su gran mayoría la presenta y 3 de mis familiares ya fallecieron a causa de esta terrible enfermedad, por suerte yo no la sufro pero todos mis tíos y tías sí.

Thank you!

From this series, I hope you will learn how to avoid diabetes altogether and possibly help your aunts and uncles to avoid some of the dire side effects of diabetes.

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Diabetes is the most common disease now a days. People do not have proper knowledge about it so they cannot beat it. Your series will have a great impact on this issue.

I hope this series of beating type II diabetes is able to give people who have it hope and persuade people tending toward diabetes to stay clear. The next installment will discuss some of the impairment from diabetes I am dealing with now and likely the rest of my life.

Have a great day!
Steem on,
Mike

I am waiting for your next post dear. Do not forget to check some of my good artwork posts from time to time and show your support.

Great enjoy a lot want to see more of this in future. @etcmike

I will try to update this series once a week. Stay tuned!

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

That's great TypeII diabetes is not a final judgment, when you are well informed like you seem to be, you can battle it! Good job and good job too getting the info out like this :))

Thank you!

As I go through the series, I hope people can learn from what I have done and apply it themselves. Each person is different and different foods are likely to be triggers for different people. Part of my journey was learning what my triggers were for spiking my blood glucose levels.

I hope to add to this series once a week. Stay tuned!

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62084.99
ETH 2415.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62