A 1:1 Challenge to my Husband

in #health6 years ago (edited)

My husband @davinsh and I have been trying to conceive for the past two years without luck. I have been diagnosed with Polycystic Ovary Syndrome which, in the simplest term I know, is due to my messed up hormones which makes it hard to conceive. ds00423_im04151_mcdc7_polycystic_ovarythu_jpg.jpg

Source and something to read about PCOS here: https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/pcos/symptoms-causes/syc-20353439

I am taking a bunch of medicines at the moment which ensures that I ovulate and helps me get my "Aunt Flo" monthly. If I still do not get pregnant after this medicine assisted cycle, then there's a chance we'll have to undergo a procedure called Intrauterine insemination (IUI) which pretty much means the Doctor will inject his swimmers directly into me, instead of the "traditional" way. Blush

I wish this treatment was a sure way to finally conceive but according to most forums I've read, it only offers 10-15% of success rate depending on age and medicines taken prior to the procedure. I'd gladly take these numbers rather than a 0% chance, if only they were less expensive. Each procedure will cost us 25, 000PHP (roughly around $500) excluding medicines per cycle.

After discussing this with @davinsh, he agreed to save up and go through the procedure. For the meantime, we'll have to do what we can to fix up my hormones to hopefully conceive without any procedure. Now, this is where the challenge comes in.

You see, I've been trying to convince @davinsh to quit smoking since I've started on my medicine assisted cycle. Hard-headed as he is, he keeps giving excuses or distracts me with his jokes just to divert the topic. I've been giving him links to articles saying that smoking affects fertility but dismisses them. I would like him to quit because even though his tests came out with positive results, I would rather do everything we can today than regret it later. Now don't get me wrong, he's the most wonderful husband one can ever ask for. He is a selfless person and a good son to his parents. I do understand that smoking is just one of his ways to cope up with work stress but at this point, we need to make a drastic lifestyle change to stabilize his health and my hormones if we really want a child.

After much convincing (and a receiving a good amount of moping from me), he finally decided to quit it. Yey! Banzai!

Now, I know how hard it will be for him for the next weeks so I am hoping to join him by initiating a little 1:1 challenge between us. He said he's been lighting 6 sticks a day so I'm challenging him to lose 1 stick for every pound I lose.

Rules:

  1. No cheating (this is a given, but still, might as well add it)
  2. No shortcuts
  3. We measure my weight starting 1 March and do a weekly recording (every Sunday)
  4. If in a week I lose more than 1 lb, @davinsh will drop the same number of sticks (ex. 3lbs:3sticks)

1 stick:1 pound, @davinsh. Deal?
2016-10-21-1477021086-7074995-stopsmokingnow.jpg Image Source: https://healthynewstv.com/2017/01/11/easy-steps-to-quit-smoking/

We will keep you guys posted. Wish us luck!

Sort:  

It's a deal but I already cut down.. I tried to stop in an instant but it's hard.. So, one by one then stop..

Good luck on everything!

Thank you very much!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

this is a real challenge bro @davinsh I do hope that you will be triumphant on it. All the best and sana magka baby na kayo real soon.

Can't wait to see my pamangkin hahaha all the best to both of you @essiehime

Haha, hopefully! Thanks a bunch. Imbitado kayo sa binyagan kapag nagbunga~ ayii. :)

Hehe sympre naman yan ang una kong pamangkin from steemit dapat nandyan ako hahahha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69183.52
ETH 3807.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71