I bought a new scale yesterday because I suspect the old one is a hate-filled liar.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I have commented to a few of you that I am working very hard to lose some weight. I have been exercising every day and eating salad rather than cheeseburgers for the last two weeks. After one week of weighing in, the old scale kept giving me the same old number and I began to suspect that somewhere deep down inside, he was having trouble telling me the truth. After two weeks of faithful exercises, no french fries, and the same old numbers, I was certain that he was just a hate-filled liar, so I went out to find a replacement.

The new scale looks so sleek, modern, and trustworthy. I knew my true weight and awesome progress would now be revealed.

Imagine my shock when the new one gave my weight within one-tenth of pound of the old. My first thought was "Maybe, they are both liars." The new one claims that by shooting very low levels electricity into the lower half of my body, he can tell that I am composed mainly of fat. He claims that he can also tell that my BMI is "high" and mocks me with at least three other readings that prove I am out of shape. I now have doubts about all his modern features that looked so helpful on the box. Unless new scale possesses some kind of super power, I don't know how he can know so much about my body through three seconds of contact with my feet.

Well, I guess it is more probable that they are both truthful. My real enemy is not my scales, but sugar. I admit I am addicted. I even put sugary stuff on all those salads I have been eating. Each morning she whispers "Krispy Kreme" so sweetly in my ear, like a beautiful siren calling a doomed sailor. I have a hard time closing my ears and mouth.

So today I declare war on sugar, and set a goal to make my scales, both old and new, my friends. Thanks for any support and advice!

Sort:  

I hear ya! I had an analog scale at the beginning of my 72lb in 72 days experiment. Near impossible to get an accurate reading while trying to balance bent over on the scale trying to grab a steady picture with a smart phone. Got a weightwatchers scale from Wally World and it must have went to the same school yours did, claims to know I as well am obese! Cheeky little instruments!
You've been upvoted, resteemed and followed. Best of luck on your journey and I hope you surpass your goals, you may be gaining lean muscle quicker than you are burning fat. Monitor your inches as well as what the "liar" says. =)

Mine is a weightwatchers scale from Target! I had a picture of it in the post, but it was originally upside down. When I tried to edit the post it would only include a link and not the picture. As always, I blame this on the scale. Thanks for the encouragement. I hope what you say is true for me and it is all my heavy muscles that I am building.

When in doubt, blame it on the scale. :) Just kidding. Those sound like worthy goals. Best of success in achieving them!

Thanks for the comment and up-vote! I'm trying to apologize to the old scale for the abuse and betrayal. I told him I was sorry, but he just sits there in bitter silence staring jealously at the new scale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61865.17
ETH 3411.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48