You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trying out the ketogenic diet

in #health7 years ago

I tried the keto diet a few years ago, after a couple of days I developed headaches, constant bad taste in my mouth and had a low mood. I gave up after 5 days. Glad you've had good benefits though :)

Sort:  

Headaches and low moods are quite normal during the adjustment stage, which can even last up to a few weeks. One thing to try would be to get into ketosis gradually, just omitting certain types of carbs at a time, this way the adjustment phase can be more comfortable.
Maybe you didn't drink enough water?
Foods and supplements containing a high level of L-tyrosine and serotonin help with the bad mood :)

Yeah, I just 'jumped' right in, perhaps a gradual transition would have worked better for me...... and more water. Is it correct you need more water to help burn fat tissue?

Many thanks :)

As far as I know "fat-metabolism" requires a lot more water. When Peter (my husband) is in ketosis, he drinks 2-4 l liquid / day. If he wouldn't drink this much, he would experience headaches, weakness/sick feelings.

I usually go through a minimum of 2 litres a day, I'm a bit of a tea-monster ;) lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.55
ETH 2610.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67