You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Story With Antidepressants

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Here is my advice.

If you have a good family, some friends, a bf or gf, you go to school, you have a job..or you have most of these things.. and you still feel highly anxious, depressed, whatever...you should not only reach out for some sort of help..but medication may be absolutely necessary for you.

If on the other hand you don't have many of those things I mentioned..well, there is a chance that maybe some CBT (cognitive behavioral therapy) or some other form of therapy, will help you get direction to get some of those things (start school, get a partner, better relationships with family, etc)..and that in itself might change your life. You might not need meds.

I have no interest in promoting medication..as I'm a Psychology grad student..but I have seen them change peoples lives for the better very drastically. Some meds might not work for you, some may give you bad side effects, but the right one could be exactly what you need.

Sort:  

I have done CBT unfortunately it didnt have much success after a year. I have family relationships but I want to focus on myself before I ever get into a romantic relationship.

That is the unfortunate part about both talk therapy and medication..sooner or later they stop working. Some people are lucky that their meds work for them for many years.

But, the good news is, that for many people, depression or anxiety goes away later in life even if they never had any type of intervention. I really hope this is the case for you.

This is really smart. Relationships are hard work and can really take a tole on mental health.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50