SICKLE CELL ANEMIA AND LOVE - VALENTINE'S SPECIAL

in #health6 years ago

This is my first official post ( that's after my introductory post yesterday 13th of February, 2018). I would love to write on a lot of diverse topics, but more importantly I want my blog to have a sense of direction, as a graduate of pharmacy, haven studied for 5 years with part time field experience, I choose to define my blog as a health blog. Do well to ask questions, and request health related topics to be featured.
IMG_20180214_100214.jpg

As concerning health. I want to start with sickle cell anemia.
My younger sister, now late, suffered from sickle cell anemia. I am not only writing because I have the knowledge from school and reading. I am writing because I have first hand experience. This health blog is meant to add value to the life of the public right? Okay, let's go!
Let's start with sickle cell anemia, then we would go to sickle cell anaemia and love. Please note that this article will be simplified. I want a layman to understand, but there are some medical terms that if I break down, would change the meaning completely. Do well to look them up.

Anaemia is a decrease in the number of circulating red blood cells or in the quantity or quality of their hemoglobin content, per unit volume of an individual's blood.
Sickle cell anemia is an inherited disease. This is due to a homozygous (SS) inheritance of the resultant abnormal hemoglobin (HbS). The sickle cell anemia is gotten from two individuals possessing a genotype having the sickle cell trait (heterogenous - AS or homogenous - SS).These are the "SS" and "AS" genotypes. In the sense that it is a disease of the blood. Here the blood cells is said to take a sickle shape.IMG_20180214_091514.jpg

Sickle cell anemia is caused by a defective hemoglobin (let's say blood) synthesis .
The HbS is unstable under a variety of conditions leading to increased hemolysis (breakdown of blood cells) and severe anemia. This includes cold and the malaria parasite. P. Falciparum malaria is the commonest cause of crises and death in sickle cell anemic patients in Africa.
Sickle cell anemia is by far the most prevalent and important hemoglobinopathy (hemoglobin disorder) clinically. Life expectancy of sickle cell anaemia patients is shortened by about 30 years although better medical management and improved social conditions have increased the life span of individuals into their 50s.
This kind of anemia is usually severe and patients are frequently jaundiced. There are episodes of severe pain, arthralgia (pain in the joints) with fever. Generally, patients appear poorly developed with a short trunk and long extremities. Sickle cell anemia manifestations include impairment of growth and development or failure to thrive in children, and increased susceptibility to infections,crisis due to folic acid deficiency or infection and vaso-occlusive manifestations which can lead to damage of organs.
Below is a picture of a child failing to thrive.IMG_20180214_091449.jpg
Despite considerable knowledge of the biochemical and pathogenetic basis of sickle cell anaemia, no adequate therapy(drug) has been developed. Current management of the disease primarily involves preventive and supportive measures which effectively prolong the intervals between "crises" , ameliorate symptoms and increase life span. There is blood stem cell (for adults) and bone marrow surgery (for young patients) conducted on sickle cell anemia patients, there are some complications, and then is 85 percent chance of cure.

Now on sickle cell anemia and love
If someone with AS genotype gets married to another with AS genotype or SS genotype, there is one out of four chances that they will have a child with sickle cell anemia. This is in no particular order, the child can be the first, second, third or fourth. The first, second and third child can also have sickle cell anemia. Cases have been reported.
Now on love, imagine couples fall in love with each other and realise they both have the sickle cell trait (AS or SS), and they have to choose either breaking up or not. Heart breaking right?. Well this is a choice they have to make for themselves.
I had someone I cherished so much and while time past, I realized his genotype was AS, this broke me because my genotype is AS also. I loved him so much and didn't know what to do. Remember my sister had sickle cell anemia and I have been there with her through pains and other related manifestations of sickle cell anemia. I cried but my tears couldn't change anything. After about two months, I tried explaining to him that I would not be able to bear the pain if my child suffers from sickle cell anemia. I felt if I go on and get married to him in future, I would be selfish. I thought of my future children's happiness. Love is a choice. I chose my future children's happiness over mine. I think this is true love when you can forfeit something very dear to you to make someone else's life better. Today, we don't feel the hurt anymore. He understands and we are still friends. I appreciate him for understanding. You know, love is sacrifice. He sacrificed his feelings at that point in time for a greater good. We have healed. I am happy I encouraged myself and got strength from God. Today I am happier for making that choice. Choose true love everyday. Love yourself and always choose to go with the greater good.
Happy Valentine's Day lovelies, I wish you true love today and always! IMG_20180214_091550.jpg
IMG-20180212-WA0032.jpg

Sort:  

you did well with your write-up. However, you are still a bit far off from styling and arrangement of your blog that could get you decent earnings. Feel free to contact me on promo-steem discord channel for mentorship. By the way, it comes free.

Congratulations @ebideint! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ebideint! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71