How I Managed to Fight Off PTSD

in #health6 years ago (edited)

DQmXD5xDgoqFXhJqPjcMjtpccbjqqSs3N9qYWsnu9gqmA97-2.jpeg

On the 1st of November 2011 I experienced and survived a plane crash that got my mind off the right track for many years and made me suffer from PTSD. It struck me about two months after the accident and destroyed my optimism, cheerfulness and joy of life. As I am writing these words now, more than 6 years after the incident, I feel totally healthy, happy and positive about my life. Here’s how I managed to fight off PTSD without SSRIs, Xanax and other mind altering medicine. I’m no doctor, by the way, so this not a medical advice but just a personal testimony of a dude who managed to win a long struggle with a condition that might mess you up for life.

Work Your Ass Off

The first thing I did when things got really bad was start working out. I didn’t have any prior experience of bodybuilding and I even didn’t go to the gym casually. Fortunately, a good friend of mine was a professional fitness instructor and allowed me to work out with him. In no time my body started to change, and so did my mind. Discipline, hard work and goals took my mind off destructive thoughts. The beginnings were brutal, but the results were almost instantaneous, as I had never did bodybuilding before. I would say that this was the first small goal which helped my mind to get back on the right track.

Pursue Your Passion

Once I felt a bit better, after 6 months of work-out or so, I got back to pursuing my career in music industry and doing what I love doing the most - playing the guitar. I got passionate about it again, ended up practising hours and hours on end every day, got jobs in bands, went on tours. This led to a job offer from a music band and to my relocation from Poland to Canada.

IMG_2924.jpg

Move Away

When your mind gets stuck in a negative mode and one destructive thought leads to another, break the vicious circle and relocate. I was fortunate enough that my job led me from Poland to Canada and I managed to change my surroundings completely. I got to know new people, got surrounded by new language, new food and different atmosphere. It did my good. However, Montreal’s winters are one of the most brutal one can experience and after some time, when the initial charm of the new place faded away, it became quite clear that I needed to live in a place with the sun, seaside, palm trees and beaches. That is how I ended up in Thailand four years ago and have lived here ever since. Having travelled to over 40 countries I have to say that this one of the best places on earth. It soothes you with its beautiful weather, warm-hearted people, tropical nature, laid-back atmosphere and delicious food.

Take a Gap Year

As soon as I got the opportunity, I took a year off in my new home in Thailand and I treated it as part of my therapy. I indulged in Thailand and enjoyed partying, hanging out with friends, playing football, working out, being out all day, travelling, etc. You can’t go wrong with that. Waking up every day with a thought that I had little to zero duties and responsibilities was very relaxing and got my mind set straight.

IMG_2813.jpg

Explore Alternatives

As I stated at the beginning of my post, I refused to take SSRIs prescribed to me by a physician. I had seen its effect before among my friends and acquaintances and I figured out that taking the medicine gives you excuses to stop working on yourself and leave matters of soul to chemical substances that are altering your mind. Anyway, various research shows the effectiveness of MDMA in curing PTSD, even suggesting that this might be the only cure available. There is obviously a difference between the recreational use of drugs and its medicinal use, so make sure to investigate it on your own before taking substances which might do you more harm than good. Other than that, daily meditation and massage does wonders.

Create

In my darkest moments of PTSD I found myself in a position of being misunderstood even by the closest people around me. It seemed that expressing myself through music was the only way I could get it out somehow, without being ridiculed or ignored. I believe that creating is often connected with destroying the old and breeding the new. It definitely took my mind off negative thoughts and depression.

IMG_4265.jpg

Get Involved in a Meaningful Relationship

That probably should be the first point of this article but it happened to me towards the end of my “therapy”. It might sound like a cliche but there is nothing better for mental harmony than a deep relationship with a person you love. PTSD sufferers need listeners and compassionate people around themselves, so make sure you will meet your guardian angel.

Earworm

Sort:  

Wow dude, what an amazing and very inspirational story. I’m so happy for you to have gotten over the ptsd, and even better, without xanex or any other commonly used pharmaceuticals!
It’s great to hear how you turned your mind around and focused on your passions, I totally agree with that! It’s really the most important aspect for building yourself back up :)
I also agree on relocation! If your mind is stuck in a rut, then relocate, try something new! It always works out and you get something from it, even if it’s not what you expected :)

Cool that you are in bands too I also play the electric guitar! 🤘peace bro and keep on loving life 😀

Thanks so much for you great comment, @sunsethunter, much appreciated!

Hello @earworm, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Cheers @creativecrypto, much appreciated! Following you now.

Excellent post! I remember you telling me about that crash. Can't even wrap my head around what that must of been like. Solid advice and it is great that you have fought off the ptsd.

Thanks, Steve, much appreciated! Glad to see you back on Steemit. Are you planning to visit Thailand any time soon?

Dude this is deep, Alot of people don't understand people like me and you who have PTSD, mine is all linked to my birth and is a built in thing for me so i have nightmares and flash backs. it is horrible.
i am so happy that you are feeling well with out having to take medication, that is brilliant news.
I am on medication for mine otherwise I would not sleep, or I would drink my self to sleep as this is the only way for me. I am still lucky to get about 4 hours a night.
I have been sectioned 3 times in my life, and i have tried to end it too on a number of times.
i am too in a better place in my life and feeling happy, a few of them things you have put into your list I have had to put into practise my self.
I have started eating more healthy, I do more, and put a lot into my home life. and we have moved a way from a neighbourhood that was so bad that we have seen riots out side our house.
this move has done me good, and my kids are happy too.

good luck for the future and I hope you stay well.

Thank you for your insightful comment, @artonmysleeve and sharing your experience here! I'm happy for you winning the struggle! All the best for the future, mate.

thanks @earworm nice for you to comment back. not a lot of people do. I am glad your feeling better in yourself too.

Good that captain Wrona managed :)
Congrats on the way how you won with it!

Dzięki! ;)

This is an excellent way to share experience which obviously benefit for readers who might have the same problem like you. You should have tag original work to be upvoted by @curie. They akcnowledge original work more. You have my little upvote. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Thanks for you kind words and advice, @alzamna, I have already added #curie to the tags.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89