You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My greatest fears

in #health7 years ago

I am sitting here at the keyboard, willing my hands to type something that would bring peace to your soul. While I will agree that you have some very valid worries, I will say that despite that, there is something about you as a person that would make your wife want to take that calculated risk. There is no rationale for it, but, on an emotional level, I want to duplicate something wonderful. Something that makes me feel good.

There is a risk anytime we give birth. My brother passed away early in life from cancer. I am not comparing. That would not be fair. Just saying that although we can weigh the risks, we just can never know.

I know you are worried about things you cannot do for your kids, but, on the other hand, you are still helping these children to grow up into better little citizens of the world because they will have a better understanding - they are usually more sensitive to others needs and learn many life skills from their own application of them.

Not the trade-off that you were looking for, but, in the big scheme of things, they will become better people because of you.

I am sorry that this is your reality, but, my hope is that it will go into remission and that they will find a cure. Easily said from this chair. I believe that your wonderful sense of humor and compassion for others will give you bonus points somewhere in life.

It has to.

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words.

I try not to worry, for myself or my children. Sometimes it's hard. My children are wonderful (as one would expect any parent to say) but I am immensely proud of all of them. Though my life casts shadows, I do try to embrace the light.

It is abundantly clear to me, as an outsider, that you are a keeper of the light. You have very lucky children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32