The rise and fall of my morning exercise routine

in #health6 years ago

For a few solid months, I was really into yoga. I would wake up most days at 6:15, pull on leggings and a t-shirt, and then walk the 2 minutes to my local studio. The practice was an hour, and left me with a spring in my step to kick off the rest of my morning routine, which usually included making breakfast, packing lunch, and journaling briefly. I could visibly see the effects within weeks as I got stronger and more flexible, and felt more in-tune with my body. I was so enamored by it that I traveled to Cambodia with my yoga mat, and researched local studios.

Then I arrived, and stopped. I did yoga a few times in my room, but never once visited a studio, even though I prefer to practice in good company. My mat has been left rolled up in a corner for a couple of weeks now.

namastay in bed.png

What the hell happened?

It's amazing how important it is to remove as many barriers to exercise as possible. In the US, my exercise clothes were simple and all in a bin. I just had to get up, put them on, and walk. I paid for a 3 month unlimited pass, and never thought about payment again. I usually got their early, so I could relax a little more on the mat before having to get started.

Now, in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, walking anywhere is at best a nuisance as drivers shout "tuk tuk" at me, or at its worst a hazard as I dodge a lot of reckless driving and poisonous exhaust. The studios are far enough as to be a tad prohibitive.
Moreover, studios here tend not to do unlimited, so I feel annoyed at having to set aside money for every class. Lastly, I didn't pack enough exercise clothing.

GAH. Excuses, excuses! But it matters when my motivation is compromised. Frankly, it was never about yoga, but my ability to create a seamless routine. As I deal with weight gain due to the sudden lack of movement and change in diet, I want to get back on track, but it may not be through yoga. In another post, I will discuss my Crossfit in Cambodia experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64622.42
ETH 3518.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46