How Does a Skinny Person Learn How to Lose Weight?

in #health6 years ago

()

You're probably wondering why anyone would ask that question! Why would a skinny person WANT to lose weight? Well, let me explain!

You see, I used to be very skinny! It was a struggle for me to hit 100 lbs when I was a teenager. And when I had my kids in my 20s, my weight never got above 150 pounds. After having them, it came right off! No exercise needed! On average, I would say in my 20s I weighed about 125 pounds.

Then in my 30s I put on about 10 pounds or so. I hovered at 135 pounds for the most part. I had finally "filled-out" as they used to say!

But then I hit 40. And I quit smoking. My weight blossomed up to 170 pounds! And along with it came constant flare ups of my fibromyalgia with prolonged periods of chronic fatigue. It just hurt to much to move let alone start an exercise routine!

Now I'm over 50 and my weight fluctuates between 185 and 190. I can no longer wear my wedding ring. My clothes don't fit right even when they are big enough to cover me! I am a 125 pound woman stuck in a 190 pound body! Help! How do I stop this!?

I finally found a doctor that might be able to help with this issue! She is a holistic doctor who specializes in helping people with fibro and chronic fatigue! Before I found her I was sinking fast! I could barely get out of bed and function as a human! I wasn't sleeping, (because I snore!), I couldn't think straight, my memory was failing, and I was extremely depressed! I used to be so active! Vivacious! And I had a really good memory! That person still lives in this body. But she is hidden.

The solution to helping me come out of the fog has been a variety of vitamins. Vitamin D, B12, CoQ10 and so many others! I hate having to take pills everyday but these are at least vitamins and not anything stronger! I also got a CPap machine! Now I sleep with only a couple of interruptions a night instead of several! My energy is better, the pain in my joints is less, and I'm not groggy all day anymore! But I'm still not losing weight!

So the next step is to change my diet. I had already starting cutting out sugars. Especially High-fructose corn syrup! I read labels all the time! You will be so amazed to find out how many things have added sugar in them! Milk? Peanut butter? You bet! We Americans are addicted to sugar and our food manufacturers know it! So they add it to everything they produce which keeps us coming back to buy more! Our food companies don't produce food because they want to help humanity, they produce it to make MONEY.

Ok, back to the diet. From all the research I'm doing about dieting, (I have to! I was skinny! I don't know how to diet!), I'm finding out that it isn't will-power or even how much exercise you get that determines how much weight you lose, it's actually about when you eat and in what combinations. (I know, that's only a very small part of it!)

So then I started a paleo type of diet. No grains, no sugars, no dairy except eggs and butter. Lots of protein and fats and carbohydrates that come from non starchy vegetables. I was on this plan for about a month. I think I lost a couple of pounds, here and there. It didn't melt off like the books promised! But I think it did balance my blood sugar somewhat.

So now I've kind of given up on that too. Well, not completely. I just wish I would have seen some kind of change! You know like being able to put my ring back on! Or seeing the extra chin on my neck disappear! Then there is the emotional side of all of this! Food is about the only pleasure I have in my life. If I can't have pleasurable foods, then I'm depressed and miserable and I just want to chuck it all!

So I guess losing weight is more about changing the way you think and making changes in your life in other areas too. I guess I'll start working on that. And tomorrow I'll do better at sticking to the diet. I do actually feel a little bit better and I have a clearer head when I stick to it. Let's see where I'm at in a month!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dragonhawk7! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44