You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Loneliness Now as Deadly as Smoking and Obesity

in #health7 years ago

Well, my attempts at approaching friends smoking and / or drug habits have very recently validated my tendency to leave that topic alone. For as long as I can remember, I have talked about solutions with high potential (not the mainstream "talk therapy" which in my experience has been a waste of time and this is what is most commonly made available) while also understanding the complex methods of resistance that people employ. In my case, "moving forward" and using what I've achieved to try and help others has resulted being able to count my "friends" on two, no.. 1 finger now and that is being optimistic. So I now know all about this loneliness thing and it's devastating effects. I'm also very aware of it and I have not been ashamed to blurt it out loud. It hasn't helped one bit, sorry to say but maybe a little more awareness may somehow serve as a "lead" that might open a door. Just because "one door closes" does not necessarily mean that another one will open. Not always so readily and on it's own anyway (and I don't mean to "stomp on" your post, I'm just adding the voice of loneliness which may in some way add additional value. Cheers)

Sort:  

I appreciate your share.

I agree, approaching things like smoking and drugs can turn a person defensive. That is an example of a lifestyle choice and humans will vehemently defend their choices- no matter how unhealthy they are.

With that being said, with something such as loneliness, it can be approached without the other person even knowing.

For instance, just by being aware of the issue can lead you to spend more time with the individual. That will help and they never even have to know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61