IMPROVING HEALTH OF STEEMIANS #2- Diabetes type 2

in #health7 years ago (edited)

My fellow steemit friends,

I really want to give something back to the steemit community, because you welcomed me with open arms. That's why I will try to write some articles about most common diseases in the population and how to improve your health.

25445061_10214972047553027_884182121_o.jpg

The first of many posts is about DIABETES TYPE 2!

BT1-THUMB-2.png

OVERVIEW

There are about 392 million people in the world with Diabetes type 2 so its very important to know some basic stuff about condition and how to prevent it. A lot of us, steemit users don't eat healthy food, don't excercise enough or dring to much sugary drinks. I do it also because when I discover steemit I spend more time on my laptop so my diet changed. Speaking from my experience as a doctor and steemit member I know the importance of writing this posts.

Diabetes type 2 is a chronic disease that affects the way your body metabolizes sugar named glucose. It is your body's most important source of energy.

RISK FACTORS

  • obesity - if you put on to much weight especially around the middle of your body, you have a big chance to get a diabetes type 2

  • inactivity - connected to the previous one

  • family history - a parent, brother or sister with diabetes

  • smoking

  • stress

WHEN TO SEE A DOCTOR

It very important to recognize the symptoms early so it can be treated right.
If you feel very thirsty every day or you pee a lot and have blurry vision you should immediately go to your doctor. Some of the symptoms that are less common are fatigue, tingling in your hands or feet and having wounds that don't heal.

PREVENTION

This is probably the most important part of the post. The best cure for everything is prevention.

  • eat healthy- try to eat more fruits, vegetables, whole grains. Eat 4-5 times a day but in small meals

  • get active - try to exercise at least 30 min a day ( you can even just walk a little bit faster)

  • lose some weight

  • quit smoking

Sometimes medication is an option as well, but healthy lifestyle choices remain essential.

I hope that you like it. Please upvote, comment and follow for more. Lets get healthier together!

Sort:  

Very important topic because there are 20 million diabetics in the USA, and about 70 million pre-diabetics. That's a serious issue

I completely agree with you. That is why I wrote it :)

Thank you for these helpful tips doc!

You are welcome. I'm glad that I can help

A great post and a very important one as well. Thank you for continuing to write about issues not everyone wants to talk about but should.

Thank you. I will write every couple days about some health issues. I want to promote health in the steemit community and how to prevent illnesses :)

That is a great goal. We are lucky to have you here

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @doctorcro to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This is great what you are doing. Thank you for sharing this information regarding diabetes. It is such a horrible disease. God bless you for trying to make the world a better place. I am trying to do the same. The steemit community is such a special community. Everyone on here is so helpful and kind. This is only my third day on here. I am looking forward to your posts. Wishing everyone the best of health and happiness! I am following and I upvoted my Friend! :)

Thank you so much. IT means a lot. I followed you also. I'm looking forward to your first post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51