Week 1 Weigh-In, Getting into "Wedding Shape"

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Many of us have new years resolutions... few of us stick with them...

This year, I have a bit more motivation for my fitness goals.  I'll be getting married in September!  And that means I want to be great shape for the day where I'll probably have more photos taken of me than any other day in my life.

To help me stay on track I will be posting on Steemit for accountability and using a Weight Gurus Smart Scale, which measures weight, body fat, muscle mass, and water weight.  These weigh-ins get logged on an app so I can track my progress.

Here's the first week weigh-in.  Only down about a pound and body fat has dropped a tad.

You'll notice I was doing pretty well mid week and then weight went back up....  I'm going to blame this on weekend partying and beers....  Celebrated a friend's birthday on Saturday night which meant there were more than a few IPAs drank and a lot of pizza eaten... This week is the Super Bowl so I'll have to keep myself in check as well (I do have a weakness for buffalo chicken dip...)

Game Plan for getting in shape

  • Running: I am lucky enough to live near a park that is perfect for running and also has exercise stations.
    • Currently running ~2-3 Miles each time I go out.  This week I ran 4 days and went on a hike instead of a run for one day.
  • Push Ups: One of the most basic and effective exercises for strengthening your upper body and giving you a better posture and physique.
    • Daily, 5 sets of 20.  
  • Pull Ups: Another really basic exercise that only requires a sturdy bar to grasp. Really great for building up your back muscles.
    • When running at the park, I'll stop after each 1/4 Mile and do as many as I can in one set.  Currently 6 Max.

I plan on building out the routine to include more body weight exercises, especially core exercises.

Onward to week 2.  Hopefully another pound down, muscle mass up, and stronger self control when it comes to weekend drinking and eating!

Sort:  

I love hearing about the work you put in. Keep us updated! When you're not enjoying a cheat night, what kind of nutrition plan do you follow? Do you track that with an app as well?

I don't track nutrition in an app, no, but cutting out fried food completely. I'll probably go veg for a bit after the super bowl as part of a month long detox.

(Haven't forgotten about your message on chat either, just haven't gotten around to responding! sorry.)

Nice plan... now you're being held accountable on the block chain :D

Just imagine when there is a block chain for every facet of life! ....could be dangerous if you were young and dating....

Fortunately MySpace locked my profile down :D

I’m rooting for you.

Thanks! Coupling this challenge with ways I can get traction with my business, which is also centered around fitness!

Again, appreciate the support and really enjoy your posts too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44