What the Health!?

in #health7 years ago

I have recently viewed the documentary What the Health, which basically goes into extreme details about the do's and don'ts of healthy eating. If anyone is like me, they believe that healthy dieting includes little fast or junk food. It also includes eating a small portion of vegetables and drinking a few cups of water as well. I have always been aware of certain unhealthy habits but after watching this film, my perspective has changed!

I would like to establish one thing: I LOVE FOOD! Meat and cheese are my everything and I literally do not want to eat a meal without either one of them. Meat is good for us, right!? It is packed with protein, there are so many different types, and it is just simply delicious. So imagine my shock when I seen how the dead carcasses of the meats that I eat being drenched in the mud, covered in flies, and decaying before being shipped off to processing centers! I mean, there were pigs piled on top of each
other in a literal barrel with abscesses and puss leaking from each of them. As if that is not enough, they are pumped with steroids designated to make them appear fresh before being packaged and sold.

That is the process most meats go through before they hit grocery stores and are presented in pretty plastic packages to be purchased. I then had to ask myself, is it the meat I love or the way I prepare it? The fact that you have to wash, season, and cook meat before consumption speaks volumes about the product.

what the health2.jpg

When you view the above image, I am sure the last thing that comes to mind is " That looks appetizing!". Anything that you consume should provide the choice of being eaten in it's natural state. With fruits and veggies, you can simply wash them off and enjoy. The reason being is that we were created to follow a plant based diet. Our teeth alone lack the canine structure needed to properly grind meats. Our digestive tracts take weeks to break down the food and our stomachs lack the proper amount of acidity needed to break it down as well. Everything in our natural creation literally objectifies to consuming animal based products.

Now I am not trying to judge or scare anyone off with this information. I am simply here to inform all on basic facts that can only be beneficial to the body. Some leading causes of death in America are heart disease, strokes, diabetes, and cancer. These are all illnesses that have direct correlations to meat consumption. Companies are making money at the expense of our health! Even the big corporations such as the American Heart Association, Susan G. Komen's cure for the Cancer, and many more are also receiving money from food companies that contradicts what their nonprofits stand for. Eating better will energize you from the inside out because food is meant o heal, not kill.

what the helth 4.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Deon10freeman,

As a former vegan of 3.5 years this is a great article. Have you read the book Skinny Bitch? It's an emphasis on your article.

Be Healthy
Be Proud
Be YOU

I have never heard of it but will definitely look into it. If you do not mind me asking, why are you a former vegan?

Thanks for sharing! I personally don't eat meat for several reasons, though I do think (but I don't know) that we are designed to consume meat--though maybe not in such large quantities as we do in America. I wonder if the negative side-effects of eating meat are actually from the factory farming and disgusting processing practices we typically employ rather than the meat itself. I have found that if people eat wholesome meat from wild game, or very well farmed animals, they do not run into many of the problems typically associated with meat. I've also found that different people are equipped to eat different things. Some people feel great when they eat quality red meat. I, on the other hand, think its disgusting and I don't digest it well. All in all, I think there is a lot we don't understand about food. But I applaud attempts to figure it out!

I definitely agree with the negative side effects more than likely being derived from how meat is nastily processed and pumped with chemicals. I feel that it can be okay in moderation, if you choose to indulge. I am just on a journey to exclude it altogether myself. More likely than not, people go straight to local grocery stores to purchase meats, which is where the unsanitary processed purchases are made. We need a lot more quality meats at our disposal but at this point, I feel it is just a far fetched idea. Awareness is better than ignorance though so I hope some light could be shed on what happens with most of the food being produced.

That is a lot of the reason I stopped eating meat myself. Good luck on you food journey! You have my praise for trying to be conscious about what you are consuming and for trying to share with others!

Indeed, food is meant to heal, not kill. Corporations won't help you on this, you have to grow your own, organic food, even meat animals if you like to eat meat, eggs and cheese. Eat what you grow according to the season it grows in - fresh. All the people who do that are simply healthy. There is no other way.

I agree totally, you are what you eat!

Congratulations @deon10freeman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i know all of your posts are wonderful, and i read them @ronaldmcatee

Wow, thank you. That means a lot to me!

I also write blog posts, but not better than you :) maybe check them out ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90