Ending the Back Pain Chronicles! ⚡️7 Things I’m Doing to Fix My Back & Get Out Of Pain!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Steemit-Covers (28).png

Here's the truth. I got sick of complaining to the blockchain about my low back pain every day, and how much it was holding me back, so I decided to do something about it. And as a way to keep myself accountable to my personal creed of “Leave everything in a better state than you found it”, I’m going to share what’s been working for me to get me out of daily pain and PERMANENTLY recovered.

Call it my karmic way of balancing out all the bitching. If you struggle with back pain I hope the following tips help you…

But first a quick disclaimer…

Of course PLEASE PLEASE consult your doctor and do your own research to find out what works best for you. The following tips have been based on my personal experience and should not be taken as medical advice

Cool? COOL! Let’s go!

First We need to get out of pain. That’s always job 1. When I used to work for a Chiropractor, he’d bring new patients in to three phases of care

  • The first was designed to get you of immediate pain and repair the damage
  • The second was to help bring your body back to it’s optimal place
  • And the third focused on maintenance

+ Turmeric & Cod Liver Oil +

I had been hearing ALL THE THINGS about Turmeric (it’s kind f all the rage at the moment), and a few of you steemians have even suggested it to me when I’ve posted about my SI joint pain. Its been about a week and so far, I’m really loving it.

”A number of studies have found that turmeric appears to have a powerful ability to reduce inflammation in the body. This anti-inflammatory action is thought to be due to an active ingredient in the spice called curcumin which blocks inflammatory pathways which trigger swelling and pain. This compound is thought to work by inhibiting a number of different molecules that play a role in inflammation in the body.” SOURCE

Some studies are even claiming that Turmeric can be as effective as prescription arthritis medication for pain and inflammation, so while it’s not a cure, it can definitely provide relief. SOURCE

We also started taking Cod Liver Oil a few months back to help with our focus and brain function, and I can also report it’s been great for my joints and I believe it’s helping with inflammation as well. There’s even a weird clicking in @teamhumble ’s shoulder that’s mysteriously disappeared! I’d say that’s a win!

+ Yoga +

Surprised? Haha I know you probably aren’t coming from me, but this one has beenHUGE. There’s a specific class that’s helped my specific pain SOO much, but the key here is that you want to be focusing on not only stretching and loosening those mucsles and tendins that are keeping you tight and in pain, but also stregnethning the muscles in that core.

####

Strengthen Your Core and Back (Free Yoga Class)

*This is the class I’ve been doing whenever I have the chance, and let me tell you, when I finish it I feel like a new person. *

So much of my yoga practice has been focused on keeping loose, which feels great in the moment, and does help relieve tension but if you don’t have the strecnth to support yourself while standing, sitting, lifting and basically living, your core clocks out early and your back ends up pulling overtime, and trust me YOU'LL PAY for that overtime.

+ Swimms! +

*I'm positive I was either this dog or this dolphin in a past life...

You may know how much I love swimming, so everything in the world seems better after I’ve been in the water, BUT, (and I know it’s tricky this time of year) swimming is a great way to get exercise while you’re recovering from an injury because of it’s low impact nature. It’s easy on the joints but the resistance the water provides makes it perfect for aerobic exercise and building up core stregnth.

“Swimming recommended in the recovery of lower back pain and is a good resistance training exercise for increasing strength and tone. The nature of swimming helps to increase blood circulation, thereby increasing the nutrients and oxygen supply to areas of damage, aiding in the healing process.” SOURCE

+ Heat +


Yes the movie with DeNiro and Pacino, but also actual hot-heat. It’s important not to over do it, because heat can also add to inflammation, but in moderation, it’s a great way to soothe aches and pains, and help seized muscles to relax.

My preferred ways to get heat on the ol back are, hot showers/epsom salt baths (when I can) and keeping the hot water bottle handy while I’m sitting at my desk. I mean if you have a personal mesuer who does hot oil and stone treatments at the ready.. by all means. Just get some heat going!

+ Sleeps! +


I’m not your Mom. I’m not going to sit here and tell you how important proper sleep is to injury recovery, I’m not going to tell you that..

“HGH is the hormone that builds and repairs many tissues in the body. After an injury, the damaged tissues need extra time and sufficient levels of HGH in order to repair and heal themselves. When a person does not get the right amount of sleep, they do not reach the proper HGH levels to adequately repair damaged tissues, thus prolonging the healing time.” SOURCE

WINK!

Of course the amount and quality of sleep is important, everyone knows that, but it’s just as important that we’re sleeping in a way that doesn’t further aggravate our pain as well.

“The two ideal positions to sleep in are on your sides or on your back. We want to avoid sleeping on our stomachs to avoid torsion. Torsion in the neck and lower back can create compression of the discs, degeneration and muscle strain.” SOURCE

+ Breathing & Proper Posture +

A big tip that yoga has taught me is that combining breath and movement is SO important, because we can use the air in our lungs, and the tightening in our cores that happens naturally with breathing, to help support us during tricky movements. ESPECIALLY when we’re recovering from an injury.

Personally I think this is why when I’m having a hard time with my back it feels like it takes AGES to bounce back fully. We still have to move, and work and go about our daily lives with or without back pain, so it’s important that we’re moving safely and in a way that’s supported, so our back isn’t working harder than it should and holding unneeded tension or strain.

Here are the general rules of breathing and movement.

  • Inhale when moving into back bends.

  • Exhale when moving into forward bends.

  • Exhale when moving into side bends.

  • Exhale when moving into twists.

Also, if you're a keyboard warrior like I am, invest in a proper chair damnit!! One that supports your spine and helps you sit up straight, if you can, a standing desk setup is awesome as well.. At the moment I have neither of those, but what I Do have is one of THESE, and it's awesome.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Oxford-BioTech-Coccyx-Cushion-Orthopedic/dp/B076ZBL28J/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1521032702&sr=8-12&keywords=sciatica+cushion

and makes for a killer meditation cushion and yoga block as well ;) (link)

I feel like I’d be writing an inauthentic feel-good puff piece if I didn’t include this final fact:

If you’re overweight and carrying extra lbs around your midsection in particular, the laws of physics dictate that there is going to be more unnecessary force that your back has to support every day. I am certainly one of those folks, and I’m working on it, so if you are too, it’s OK! We’re not body shaming here, but you’ll be shocked what even 5 or 10 lbs will make in terms of a difference for your back pain.

I hope these little tips give you a starting point in terms of places to research and begin to look into if you’re experiencing back pain. Of course, please speak to a Chiropractor you trust and your doctor before beginning any treatment or attempting self diagnosis.

<3 Much love and well wishes from and ever improving
Dayleeo


Originally posted on HeyDayle ⚡️ The Blog. Steem blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

Wow, you really offered some great advice here. I have been dealing with low back pain for 2 years now. I am in physical therapy and pool therapy for core strengthening. They have helped but my posture while at the desk didn't help. I now have a better chair and am starting to do you stretches. I am already getting good results by implementing some of your tips offered here. They really made a difference for me. I bought Turmeric and am starting to take that too. This post is affirming I am on the right track. Thanks for excellent info.

Wow that's awesome! Glad to hear it! Check out @cabelindsay 's awesome GOLDEN MILK above- that sounds like a serious inflammatory tonic to me, I cant wait to try it <3

Keep up the good work taking care of that back, I'm sure you'll be better every day<3

I am doing my best just had an MRI image done. Arthritis in between two lower discs and a bulging disk on the lowest one. No wonder I always have pain.

oooh that sounds like no fun at all! Take care of yourself @sunscape! Keep up the turmeric and if you can, get that swimming in <3

Thank you so much, I am doing whatever I can to assist. Lot's of new things too.

Greatness. Yes to all of this. Regarding turmeric, I'm seeing it used popularly in the "golden milk" beverage. Are you familiar? It's a tea, featuring turmeric and coconut milk, plus black pepper and cinnamon.

Golden Milk is new to me but that sounds delicious!! Can I add honey? ;) or is that not allowed?

Back pain is so common among us also in Africa, we used herbs and roots prepared, all this tips you posted is very useful, only physiotherapy can conquer back pain. Thank for this post.

Thanks so much! Yes strong core strong back! Getting there little by little before it gets any worse!!

Glad to hear you've been experiencing relief and growth! I too have suffered from and recovered from (mostly) a great deal of back pain in my life. Some old sports and work spinal injuries yes, but also it's amazing how much sleeping in strange positions can affect the connective tissue and posture. Yoga has also done wonders for me, however I'd say even more profound have been my experiences of release with Qi Gong and Tai Chi. Have you tried either of these? Much the same premise as moving with the breath, good posture, etc., however, I've felt more engaged energetically with Qi work. Also, turmeric is amazing :) There are many many other herbs you can try if inflammation continues. Another aspect about turmeric many people overlook is that it is actually not very readily absorbed into the body without piperene, which, as the name implies, comes from pepper! Black pepper to be precise. Turmeric, black pepper and some nutrient dense herbs like nettles make excellent combinations; as for many people pain is not just muscular/facia tissue tension but residual scar tissue. Piperene helps with absorption, but also helps open up the circulatory system to flood affected areas with more blood. Combining this with nutrient dense herbs or food, then you are effectively clearing out the old and providing better building blocks for new bodily/behavioral patterns; an important holistic approach as even with yoga and healthy food and sleep, our unconscious affects how we hold our body during other moments throughout the day. Thank you again for sharing you healing journey! Very inspiring, and you are a good writer. I'll be following along for more! Peace :)

Wow I am learning so much today from lovely steemians such as yourself today! Thank you, I bet that's why there's black pepper in this mystical Golden Milk drink I keep hearing about!

THANK YOU so much for taking the time to relay the info!

I've been interested in Tai Chi for awhile now, a few steemians turned me on to it, and I know that calming low impact exercises are best for calming my fight or flight, high strung tendencies (hence the yoga obsession) I guess the only thing holding me back is that Im not sure where to start! Are there any free videos or tutorials I can follow online? For example, I do all my yoga from a site called doyogawithme.com. A Tai Chi version would be perfect for me

(also, thank you for following- checking out your blog now)

Yum Golden Milk :) :) :) It's awesome how much there is to learn from each other on here. I wish more person to person interactions were like this too!

I started in Tai Chi from a book years ago. There are so many out there, I'd suggest one that sources a lineage. Videos could work too, some people really do better with following along. Depending on where you live, there might be a Tai Chi group meeting up in the park, probably in the morning or early evening.

As far as Qi Gong goes, it is more open-source in a way. At least that is how I look at it. There are supposedly over 2000 styles. Much of it has to do with posture, and actually doing very little. I like combining it with yoga, especially sun salutations.

Al Huang is Tai Chi Grand Master and a great writer (and calligrapher). www.beginnerstaichi.com has a bunch of info.

Mantak Chia has a million books, some of which are quite interesting, especially Iron Shirt Qi Gong.

Hope any of this helps!

It's certainly a place to start! Thank you! Will check that out and hopefully I'll be posting about my experiences soon!- How did you get started?

A very small and simple and beautiful book called Tai Chi Chuan and I Ching was in my basement growing up. I started practicing from that. Years later I took a Tai Chi class at a Community College with Jayne Lee, she was an amazing teacher. Then a few years ago I went through the first two levels of Chi-lel Qi Gong with a teacher in Bloomington Indiana. It still amazes me how diverse the systems are. Happy flowing! I'll be excited to hear about your experiences.

Forgot to say the Author! Tai Chi Chuan and I Ching written by Da Liu. He has written other book too!

Thanks for the advice! I'm having an EMG done later this week to see if pain in my foot and knee are being caused by a low back issue. I'll definitely ask about a few of your suggestions with my doctor. How have you been using tumeric? I tried golden milk, but otherwise I don't really know what to do with it

That's great! I'm taking it in capsule form. I bought a small batch just to try it out, but since there seems to be no difference between what's in the capsules and what can be bought in bulk, I'm considering doing a bulk empty capsule purchase and filling them myself. I can see myself taking it for the foreseeable future.

Good luck on your EMG <3! It really is true that everything is connected. My first trip to the chiro revealed that since my pelvis was out of whack, my left leg was a bit longer than my right- imbalance effects the whole chain- I hope you can get to the bottom of it soon and you're not in too much pain

Having extra pounds in the middle does create more opportunity for back pain to rear its ugly head. I have lost weight, started exercising (walking more and gardening). Yoga and meditation are coming but I am finding it difficult to find the time. Hopefully, this will put me on the right track. Sounds like you have found your path.

time is always ticking, that's for sure, I do find however that the longer the day goes on the less time there seems to be, the only way I can ensure I get my exercise in, is to do it first thing even before breakfast (and before I'm fully conscious) lol <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68