Money isnt everything

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was an interesting day. I found out last night that my friend from elementary school Sandy had died. As I thought about all the hustle and bustle I had been doing with making money, trading digital currencies, saving, investing in silver bullion it somehow all came to me that I need more emotional involvement with things and that it is kind of something that the world lacks not just wealth. 

You see before I got back on my feet and had the opportunity to save I was homeless on the northern California coast for 3 years where every penny I made went to necessity. Although a part of me was happy with no bills no responsibilities other then to find food and warmth I lacked financial freedom. Something that everyone in the world tries to achieve. I guess I just got tired.of trying and gave up I also wanted nothing to do with corporate America and playing the tax game and recently broke up.with who I thought was the love.of my life. I figured the more you have the more they take and money has no value. I still somewha agree with that point of view but I have focused on beating the majority of people at their own game by making as much money as I can and perfecting skills that the majority of people will never obtain. 


Anyways yesterday after hearing the news that a child hood friend had died I would like to return to a minimalistic lifestyle. I am moving into a new house in a couple months an I am not going to buy cable T.V. I am going to grow a garden one outside and one inside. I  going to have a solar grid that will run garden lights for veggies in the winter and possibly run heaters. I going to.focus more on human interaction and building relationships I am not going to stop saving money but I am going to start setting up funds to.donate to local charity work for homeless and those addicted to drugs. 

I forgot where I was going to go with this but yeah life needs balance focusing on yourself is fine but not every positive spect of your life is finances.

Sort:  

I hope this doesn't come across as callous, but it seems that sometimes it takes an event like this to realize we need a change. I'm sorry for your loss and wishing you the best in your new minimalistic lifestyle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61812.63
ETH 2432.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63