Gym Blog #01: Welcome home (Finding routine, loving the work)

in #health7 years ago

New Beginnings

I'm going to take the very first gym blog to introduce you guys to my church. My place of penance. The high school weight room. I want to do a few things with this blog; first and foremost, I want to be a place where you can get solid advice that works. Everyone has a unique perspective on their passions and hobbies. I only want to give you mine and hope that you can benefit as a result.

Second, everyone has a story and journey. I'm not some fitness god. I'm one of you, and I want to share the struggles and joys found through everyday training. There's a lot of guys out there who need a community - why not make one together? I'm on Steemit pretty frequently - drop a comment, hit me up. 

An unusually great hole in the wall.

This is it! This is the school gym I go to every day. We're lucky enough to have it completely free of rigid supervision - meaning we can assign our own workouts and go at it. Although there's a bit of misconduct here and there, we've all made it a fun place to be. Here are some of the weight room legends who I'm lucky enough to call classmates. 

Meet Gavin. If you're wondering why this dude is wearing a bunch of Berkeley merch, its because he just got a full ride there for Track and Field. He's one of my greatest friends and an absolute monster in the weight room. While I tend to try and research and measure my way through achieving goals, he plows through them with sheer will. A lot of my music comes from him deep diving Spotify, too. Rad guy.

This guy was featured in my introduction post. He's Jake. This guy has been into fitness and athletics long before anyone that I know. He's known for absurd determination and shattering offensive line moral in football. The dude is a natural born leader and all around general source of inspiration. Him and Gavin really paved the way for our open gym before anyone else. These are the two people you'll see around more often than not, hence why I'm advertising them so strongly for the opening post. We've got plenty of newcomers and familiar faces to be seen for the upcoming blogs, though.

Welcome home

One of the biggest issues that I've ever had with fitness is the sheer monotony of it. Its why I gravitated towards surfing for so long - its unpredictable, ever changing, and guaranteed to surprise you when you least expect it. I had this problem all the way up until I decided to give a real shot at the home gym. My friends already worked out there with no crowds whatsoever, so why not give a shot?

Day one, day two, day three, day four, day five. Each day has a lift, each day has your calories and macros you need to consume, each day comes with a rigid nature. Week one, week two, week three, week four... on and on. I knew this coming up - how daunting and dismal it would seem. But quickly, magically, I fell in love with it. I looked forward to the only guaranteed thing in my daily routine. That's what I feel a lot of people need to come to terms with. 

Each rep you pound out, each minute on the bike, each grueling workout you chug through is strength earned and fat burned. Each day you commit, while others don't, is progress you've earned by your own right alone. Working out every day isn't monotony, it's delayed gratification - one of the greatest pleasures that few experience. That's why I advocate treating the gym like home. Make it some place you love. Turn the work you do from a task to a remedy. Once you find your routine, once you love the work, the difficulty is already gone.

If you've liked this blog, or want to see more of it, please drop a comment!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28