Dear Diary: I Have Found A Way Not To Get The Bitter Aftertaste Caused By My Parathyroid Medicine

in #health6 years ago

WIN_20180923_01_00_14_Pro.jpg

Good Medicine with a Bad Side-Effects

I had been suffering from the aftereffects of my Parathyroid medicine for more than a year now and it took a toll in my life, my well-being. With my desire to rid myself of pain and at least stop the progression of my Leontiasis, a rare bone disorder that developed gradually until it changed my appearance and gave me a set of disabilities that further made my life unbearable and so hard I endured taking my medicine.

Had it not been for my normal hemoglobin levels I wouldn't been able to tolerate the nauseating effects of Cinacalcet. It smells like gasoline and I am actually afraid of busting my liver with it considering that I have to take it twice a day everyday.

My doctor wants me to take it thrice a day but I didn't do that, I can't afford to do so because of the forbidding price of that medicine that is so rare as well that I was only the one that is buying it here in our province.

I could not take it three times a day because it has an appetite-disturbing effect that it drains away my appetite down the drain. That is why I did some shopping online some foods that can help me with my nutrition because that medicine had made my appetite to zero.

But I seem to find a way now in avoiding the bitter, or metallic aftertaste that it gives me when I take it with food. My way of taking it now is to just eat while sitting and taking it in with meals and I should not lie down or I will get that nasty aftertaste that I was always complaining about.

It seems to work, so after eating I would take some cereals and continue sitting for maybe an hour before lying down on my bed since I cannot sit up for so very long. That is what I am doing now and I am glad with my heart that at least one of my miseries is solved now.

Sort:  

@cryptopie God bless you my dear friend.

Hello friend I am thinking of you :) make sure to add bitter herbs to your diet if you can. They can help stimulate appetite and maybe cover bad tastes. Sending you good vibes from Alaska!

This is your medicine . You are right some medicine bad effects on body . Take care of your health @cryptopie

Hi @ cryptopie
Good to see that you are tying your best to resolve issues in best possible manner.
Try to be always positive . God is always with you.
And we STEEMIT member will also try to be with you as much as possible.
Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65