Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

in #health7 years ago

This is my daughters story of when she was diagnosed with Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS).
I was walking one day and I felt pain in my left leg and foot, I thought it was nothing and it was just growing pains and when I told my parents they thought the same as well. I carried on doing things normally but it wasn't until the next day when things changed.
I tried to get out of bed but I couldn't put any weight on my left and when I tried I would be screaming in pain. When eventually i had got downstairs my dad tried to touch my foot but I wouldn't because with a tiny touch it felt like someone was jumping on my foot. When I did let him touch it my foot was ice cold compared to my right foot and my toes had lost sensation while the whole foot was swollen. The pain was so unbearable I barley moved that day and no one knew what the problem was. We were away when it started so I want to the hospital the day after. They didn't know what it was but they suspected it to be a sprain of some sort so they just put me on crutches. We all knew it wasn't a sprain so my mum had taken me to the next nearest hospital. They were able to digamous me with CRPS that day which was brilliant. I had to go back for an MRI scan so that they had diagnosed me with the right condition. We asked when I would get better but no one knew the answer to that question has it could take days,months, years to get better or in some cases people have to live with the condition for ever.
Living with the condition was hard for everybody around me as people would have to not get to close to me has even if the wind blew on my foot the pain would be really bad. I would have to do lots of physio therapy and hydrotherapy to desensitise my foot and exercise it. I also tried acupuncture which helped.
No matter how hard it was to cope with it I still had to live life normally. This condition lasted for six months so I had quite a quick recovery compared to some other people.
Not many people know about this so I would like others to be more aware about the condition and I hope those who read this post are now aware of this.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptopharma! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43