You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A response to @chron: Why you should believe in Herd Immunity!

in #health7 years ago

Having worked in clinical bioinformatics, I feel these issues get muddied by the assumption that the "science is sound" - if people could see, what I've seen, at research institutions, they would be far more skeptical of ALL the numbers being used to justify arguments in this and other debates. Bottom line: people need to judge for themselves the soundness of the data, do proper research, and keep asking questions. I do not get vaccinated for the flu - haven't had the flu in almost 20 years. This is anecdotal, and therefore NOT scientific evidence, but it is my own experience. Thanks for this post, I really like the discussion here.

Sort:  

Excellent points all around. Anecdotal evidence drives so any health trends and habits among individuals. It will be quite interesting to see how the world utilizes the ever increasing collection of data we are accumulating, especially for health of individuals and society in general.

if people could see, what I've seen, at research institutions, they would be far more skeptical of ALL the numbers being used to justify arguments in this and other debates.

Definitely true. This is why you have to find trustful sources who are known for good scientific behavior and you also should look out for different results which prove your assumption.

I do not get vaccinated for the flu - haven't had the flu in almost 20 years. This is anecdotal, and therefore NOT scientific evidence, but it is my own experience.

And if you think you don't need the flu vaxx, don't get it. That's your right of course.
I only would disagree if you would say: "Hey guys, don't get the vaxx, you don't need it. Just look at me. I am not vaxxed and still haven't got the flu!"

But as long as you don't use your individual case as proof for something, I agree that you can handle getting the flu shot or not just as you like or think what is best for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69