The cordyceps fungus, procreates through insects, this is so weird!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Eeeeew I'm totally grossed out by this fungus that I was planning on getting as a medicine.
As you can see in the video, the minuscule spores can enter the body of insects and digest them while controlling their minds to behave in the most suitable way for the spore to grow into another fungus. It's rather gruesome in my opinion.
It might be so that this 'plant/fungus' has evolved in such a way that it is close to the 'insect/animal' realm developmentally and that might be the exact reason why it is so effective and intelligent in treating all kinds of human ailments. As it can make a symbioses happen between species.
But... I am actually quite put off by it now.
Is there anyone who can tell me anything about this fungus that could possibly un-weird-me-out?

I hope you're not feeling too disgusted after that.

Love Clara

Check out @ecotrain for more

Sort:  

In this steemit article I found that they can actually also grow on grain and if I understood it right, that's the way it's done for creating supplements. Phiew, so maybe I will be able to take them after all. https://steemit.com/norway/@healthpac/the-4-medicinal-mushrooms-you-should-know-about-part-3-cordyceps

I have heard the mycologist Paul Stamets talk a lot about this mushroom. It is certainly bizarre though.

Did anybody watch it? I can't imagine anybody did and was not so astonished they did not want to say anything about it...

It seems interresting i followed and up voted. Please keep doing your great work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57606.89
ETH 3164.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28