I Tried Water Fasting and It Worked!

in #health6 years ago

Water fasting is said to be the most effective way to detox the body. It is also a popular and effective way to lose weight. It is a kind of fasting which restricts everything except water.

B499AEC5-08BA-46C9-9A0F-1F2F57289941.jpeg
[image source: www.omenkaonline.com]

Water fasting was introduced to me by Ms. @janicehung. When I first heard about it, I can’t imagine how I can survive my days by taking water only. Never in my adult life that I tried it and skipping meals already made me hungry. However, when Ms. Janice told me the benefits of water fasting, I decided to try it.

Benefits of Water Fasting

  1. Helps lower blood pressure
  2. Lowers the risk of several chronic diseases like cancer, diabetes and heart disease
  3. Slows aging
  4. Improves cell recycling
  5. Resets the immune system
  6. Cleans your system
  7. Weight loss

My Water Fasting Experience

A few months ago, I tried water fasting for 3 days in a row for 5 consecutive weeks. Just last week, I tried water fasting again and decided to do it regularly because I recently researched more about it and I believe in the benefits it can give my body.

Being successful in water fasting is not a battle of the stomach but a battle of the mind. The mind is very powerful. When a person thinks he can, he definitely can. When he thinks he cannot, he absolutely cannot. So what I did was I focused on the mindset that I can do it, that I feel full, and that I will benefit from it. At first, it really was not easy especially when I see or smell food or when the people around me eat or offer me food. There were a lot of times that I felt deprived from food and there were times that I felt sad and low because I wanted to eat but I could not yet eat. There were times that I felt minor headache and even hunger but drinking more water solved these.

Before, I thought that I could not function normally if I do water fasting but I realized that it’s not true. I was still able to do what I normally do and I was still able to workout. In some studies, it is suggested that a person should not do tedious activities during water fasting but based on experience, I believe that it still depends on the health or body of the person doing it. As for me, I was able to do workout during fasting days.

Based on research, after 48 hours of taking water only, the body starts activating ketones. This means that the body starts getting energy from stored fat instead of from calorie intake. This also means more fat burning. When I did the water fasting, I noticed that I lost weight for an average of 2 kilos per 3 days.

How I Started With Water Fasting

Personally, I started with Intermittent Fasting. It is a kind of fasting with at least 8 hours eating window and 16 hours fasting.

After trying the 16-hour fasting, a person can try the 24-hour fast, and eventually increase the number of water fasting days. Experts say that water fasting done in longer days must be supervised to avoid some health risks.

It is suggested that one should prepare his body for water fasting. Two to three days before water fasting, gradually decrease food intake, then shift to soft food, then to liquids like soups and juices. After water fasting, slowly condition your body from taking water, to liquids like soup and juices, to soft food, then to normal food.

My Take On Water Fasting

Water fasting is not easy but it is definitely worth doing regularly. It gives the body lots of benefits and it gives person also a sense of control and discipline. To those who want to give their body an effective detox, I recommend that you try water fasting.

Disclaimer: If you have a health condition or if you are under medication, consult your doctor first.

Sources:
https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/water-fasting

https://www.tylertolman.com/health-articles/water-fasting-benefits-detox-cleanse/

Connect with us:
@clairefabella
@janicehung
@steemitmanila
@udefendproject

F2A2C9D8-86A9-4E28-AD02-C17AB887B9F7.gif

Sort:  

Water fasting is indeed effective!

I was intrigued by your post, so, I read it twice. I was scared drinking a lot of water everyday coz I felt my stomach bloated when I drank too much. Now, that I learned about the benefits of water fasting, I’ll try it. Thank you for sharing this post @clairefabella

Thank you for the appreciation @scarletsnow. The thought of water fasting is really scary at first until you try it. Slowly but surely. 😀

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by clairefabella from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #27! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

Thank you @dailypick for including my post! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64