You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Live Healthy, When We're All Going to Die Anyway?

in #health5 years ago

Being incapable of doing anything and confined to a nursing home for the last part of my life is not something I want at all. I am basically doing everything in my power to avoid that through healthy diet and lifestyle choices. I also think it's why making euthanasia illegal is ridiculous. Quality of life trumps life itself for me personally. If you you don't want to go through all the pain and suffering and not being able to do anything for yourself you shouldn't have to. Plus now that I've seen the other side, I am not scared of what comes next (although I am still scared of any pain that might come with the dying process).

Sort:  

Fear of the unknown is the reason we generally fear death. Plus our instinct for self preservation, I suppose.

Apart from going to sleep and not waking up, I can't imagine any way of dying comes without some pain. Even a heart attack may be fairly quick, but not painless. Euthanasia is an odd one really. We allow it for animals and in fact promote it over allowing them to go slowly and in pain, yet we don't allow it for people who are able to say whether they want it or not? I saw a programme on some British people who were going to Holland (I think it was Holland) to be euthanised. There was just so much more dignity in it for them, but ridiculous that they had to go to another country for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that's a good point about pets. We (collectively) don't seem to have problems with that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46