You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People Do Crazy Things Just Because They Think it's NATURAL and "HEALTHY" - Youtuber Poisons Herself Eating Plant She Thinks is Aloe Vera

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Hello, this really is frightening, but unfortunately its rampant. I'm studying Naturopathic Nutrition myself after being really interested in alternative medicine and healing foods for years and just researching my self. As I'm progressing through my studies I have realised just how much miss information there is floating around the internet, and idiots being taken seriously because they have a tiny waist and fake boobs, or a perfect six pack etc. There is some really dangerous advice out there with regards to dieting, using alternative medicine etc. A friend of mine really burned her arm because she read about the benefits of Lavender oil but the article failed to mention it has to be diluted in a carrier oil first. I've seen people on youtube with huge followings tell people they do not need to take vitamin B12, largely in the Vegan community, I'm Veggie my self. Although they are correct in some of their ideas that wild animals don't need to take it so why should we? We have farmed our soil to death and spray it with poisons. B12 is produced by the bacteria these methods kill off. Also the liver can store enough of it for 3 years, so when they say oh I'm fine I've not taken any for 2 years, it wont be long before issues arrive.

I have seen it loads on here already, people copying some article they have seen on facebook most likely about some health food, some of it incorrect. I would urge anyone to check out sources AND ALWAYS DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH.

Good post, people need to be made aware of the dangers of just copying other people for the sake of making money, especially where your health is concerned.

Sort:  

I take b12 and many other supplements(A , C, D and E). I stick with the basics. B12 is especially important for my I had my ileum removed from my intestines. I had a catastrophic cyst in my ilium. They blamed Crohn's disease. Even though I was late twenties and no prior problems.

Sorry to hear that, out of interest has your doctor advised you to take those supplements? A and E are fat soluble which means they are harder to excrete from the body and can accumulate- very easy to reach toxic amounts with those. Vitamin E more so. There are 2 or 3 strains of it, I can't remember the specifics off the top off my head and I'm not just going to grab something off google either, but the form they use in supplements has been shown in recent research to be quite toxic. Natural supplements of the 'good kind' are things like wheat germ oil, 1 x teaspoon a day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65