You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think Breast Feeding is Natural? Think again!

in #health6 years ago

You have to wonder how the general public can regard doctors as intelligent when they make statements such as these.

I love collecting information for my own reference and I am wondering if you can offer me sources for the statistics about breastfeeding reducing cancer rates.

Thanks for the article! Aimee

Sort:  

The article in question is here and there's another article discussing the issue here. I don't think they're really saying that breastfeeding is unnatural – they're saying that "natural" is a loaded word.
Apparently there was a UK paper arguing that natural was a "mushy" word and considering whether it's time to get rid of it, which seems a bit Orwellian in itself. Who decides when it's time to "get rid of" a word? Language can be used as propaganda. But the UK paper discussing this appears to have been removed.

Propaganda , and laying some foundation for wats to come .

Interesting! I will take a gander at those articles. Thanks so much for sharing. -Aimee

Hi Aimee, thank you, I know right?!!! I found those sort of claims or info in various places on the web - one of them is: https://www.health-foundations.com/blog/2013/11/19/15-cool-facts-about-breastfeeding/ but there is no source for her info I'm afraid. There must be somewhere although really I wasn't being quite that scientific so didn't look for proof.

No problem! I read/hear about the benefits of breastfeeding all the time and I really do believe in them but having sources would be nice too. Just like having an ace in your back pocket, you know. 😊 -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69247.12
ETH 3346.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75